SOURCE: Smith & Nephew PLC

April 08, 2005 07:57 ET

Smith & Nephew PLC Announces Timing of Smith & Nephew First Quarter Results

London, UK -- (MARKET WIRE) -- April 8, 2005 --

Timing of Smith & Nephew First Quarter Results

8 April 2005

Smith & Nephew plc will be announcing its results for the first quarter ending 2 April 2005 on Thursday 5 May 2005 at 12 noon BST/7am Eastern. This will be followed by a conference call with financial analysts at 3.30pm BST/10.30am Eastern, which can be heard live via webcast on the Smith & Nephew website at www.smith-nephew.com.

About Us

Smith & Nephew (LSE: SN.L; NYSE: SNN) is one of the world's leading medical device companies, specialising in Orthopaedics, Endoscopy and Advanced Wound Management products. Smith & Nephew ranks as a global leader in arthroscopy and advanced wound management and is one of the fastest growing orthopaedics companies in the world.

Smith & Nephew is dedicated to helping improve people's lives. The company prides itself on the strength of its relationships with its surgeon and professional healthcare customers, with whom its name is synonymous with the high standards of performance, innovation and trust. The company has over 8,000 employees and operates in 32 countries around the world, generating sales of £1.25 billion.

Enquiries:

 Smith & Nephew UK
 Peter Nind                                   Tel: +44 (0)20 7401 7646
 Corporate Affairs Manager

 Financial Dynamics UK
 David Yates/Deborah Scott                    Tel: +44 (0)20 7831 3113

 Financial Dynamics US 
 Jonathan Birt                                Tel: +1 212 850 5634

This information is provided by RNS The company news service from the London Stock Exchange