SOURCE: Smith & Nephew PLC

July 18, 2005 10:59 ET

SMITH & NEPHEW PLC ANNOUNCES TIMING OF SMITH & NEPHEW SECOND QUARTER & INTERIM RESULTS

London, UK -- (MARKET WIRE) -- July 18, 2005 --


Timing of Smith & Nephew Second Quarter & Interim Results

18 July 2005

Smith & Nephew plc will be announcing its second quarter and Interim results
ending 2 July 2005 on Thursday 4 August 2005 at 11am BST/6am Eastern.  This will
be followed by a presentation for financial analysts at 1pm BST/8am Eastern,
which can be seen live via webcast on the Smith & Nephew website at
www.smith-nephew.com.

About Us

Smith & Nephew (LSE: SN.L; NYSE: SNN) is one of the world's leading medical
device companies, specialising in Orthopaedics, Endoscopy and Advanced Wound
Management products.  Smith & Nephew ranks as a global leader in arthroscopy and
advanced wound management and is one of the fastest growing orthopaedics
companies in the world.

Smith & Nephew is dedicated to helping improve people's lives.  The company
prides itself on the strength of its relationships with its surgeon and
professional healthcare customers, with whom its name is synonymous with the
high standards of performance, innovation and trust.  The company has over 8,000
employees and operates in 33 countries around the world, generating sales of
£1.25 billion.

Enquiries:

Smith & Nephew UK
Peter Nind                                              Tel: +44 (0)20 7401 7646
Corporate Affairs Manager

Financial Dynamics UK
David Yates/Deborah Scott                               Tel: +44 (0)20 7831 3113

Financial Dynamics US
Jonathan Birt                                               Tel: +1 212 850 5634




                      This information is provided by RNS
            The company news service from the London Stock Exchange