March 07, 2016 16:00 ET

South Dakota Becomes First State to Pass Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC)

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Mar 7, 2016) - The enhanced NLC welcomed its first member when South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard signed the enhanced NLC bill into law on Feb. 16, 2016. Introduced by the South Dakota Board of Nursing, the bill was passed by both the House of Representatives and the Senate without a single no vote. South Dakota has been a member of the current NLC since 2001.

Allowing nurses to have mobility across state borders, the enhanced NLC increases access to care while maintaining public protection. The enhanced NLC, which is an updated version of the current NLC, allows for registered nurses (RNs) and licensed practical/vocational nurses (LPN/VNs) to have one multistate license, with the ability to practice in both their home state and other NLC states. There are 25 states in the current NLC.

"The board of nursing is very pleased with the support that the bill received in the South Dakota Legislature," comments Gloria Damgaard, MS, RN, FRE, Executive Director, South Dakota Board of Nursing. "We also appreciate the tremendous support that was received by the professional health care associations and the employers of nurses in our state. We know from experience that the NLC serves as an important model of licensure to meet the needs of South Dakota citizens."

The enhanced NLC also enables nurses to provide telehealth nursing services to patients located across the country without having to obtain additional licenses. In the event of a disaster, nurses from multiple states can easily respond to supply vital services. Additionally, almost every nurse -- including primary care nurses, case managers, transport nurses, school and hospice nurses, among many others -- needs to routinely cross state boundaries to provide the public with access to nursing services. A multistate license facilitates this process.

Boards of nursing (BONs) were the first health care provider regulatory bodies to develop a model for interstate practice with the original adoption of the NLC in 1997 and its implementation in 2000. While other health care provider regulatory bodies are just getting started in this process, the NLC has been operational and successful for more than 15 years.

To learn more about the NLC, view the video, "The Nurse Licensure Compact Explained" at Additional information about the NLC can be found at

Founded March 15, 1978, as an independent not-for-profit organization, NCSBN was created to lessen the burdens of state governments and bring together boards of nursing (BONs) to act and counsel together on matters of common interest. NCSBN's membership is comprised of the BONs in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and four U.S. territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are also 24 associate members that are either nursing regulatory bodies or empowered regulatory authorities from other countries or territories.

NCSBN Member Boards protect the public by ensuring that safe and competent nursing care is provided by licensed nurses. These BONs regulate more than 4.5 million licensed nurses.

Mission: NCSBN provides education, service and research through collaborative leadership to promote evidence-based regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection.

The statements and opinions expressed are those of NCSBN and not the individual member state or territorial boards of nursing.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Dawn M. Kappel
    Director, Marketing and Communications
    312.525.3667 direct
    312.279.1034 fax
    Email Contact