SOURCE: Specialty Coffee Association of America

Specialty Coffee Association of America

April 22, 2011 18:42 ET

Specialty Coffee Association of America Awards 2011 Coffees of the Year

Roasters Guild Coffees of the Year Competition Highlights Some of the World's Best Coffees

LONG BEACH, CA--(Marketwire - Apr 22, 2011) - The Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA) and the Roasters Guild awarded ten specialty coffees with the "Coffees of the Year" title at its 2011 Coffees of the Year Competition, which will be celebrated at the 23rd annual SCAA Event, April 28 - May 1, 2011 in Houston, Texas. More than 121 specialty coffee submissions, representing 17 countries, competed in the prestigious annual event to be recognized as the best specialty coffees from around the globe from the 2010/11 crop. Experienced judges chose the winning coffees by cupping and thoroughly evaluating the sensory attributes of each coffee sample entered in the competition. The judges specifically assessed six distinct qualities of the coffee samples including fragrance, aroma, taste, flavor, aftertaste and body. The 2011 Roasters Guild Coffees of the Year Competition winners are:

RegionCaucaSanta Barbara
Farm NameSantuarioSan Vicente
Producer NameCamilo MerizaldeCrecencio Izaguirre
Processing MethodDry Process / NaturalWashed and Sun-dried
CountryGuatemalaUSA / Hawaii
RegionFraijanes - PalenciaKa'u
Farm NameEl Socorro y AnexosKaliawa Coffee Farm
Producer NameJuan Diego De La CerdaBull Kaliawa
Processing MethodWashedWashed
CountryEl SalvadorColombia
RegionApaneca Ilamatepec Mountain RangeCaicedonia / Valle del Cauca
Farm NameSan JoseColombian Mountain Coffee
Producer NameJuan Carlos Gregg MezaHelena Sarria Garrido
Processing MethodWashedWashed
VarietalRed, Yellow and Orange, Bourbon, Typica, ElefanteGeisha
CountryHondurasEl Salvador
RegionSantiago de Puringla, La PazApaneca / Ilamatepec, Ahuachapan
Farm NameLos ManzanosSan Jose
Producer NameTeodoro Amaya MontoyaGloria Rodriguez Fontan
Processing MethodWashedWashed
RegionBarberena, Santa RosaSud Yungas / La Paz
Farm NameTeanzulTakesi La Central
Producer NameAdolfo BoppelMariana Iturralde
Processing MethodWashedWashed
VarietalBourbon AmarilloTypica

In addition to the ten winners, a People's Choice Award will be determined at the SCAA Event by attendees who will taste and vote for their favorite of the ten winners of the 2011 Roasters Guild Coffees of the Year Competition. For more information, visit

About SCAA

The Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA) is the world's coffee authority and largest coffee trade association with nearly 3,000 member companies located in more than 40 countries. Visit

About The Roasters Guild

The Roasters Guild is an official trade guild of the Specialty Coffee Association of America that consists of specialty roasters dedicated to the craft of roasting quality coffee and promotes quality as the principle standard for success. The Roasters Guild advocates linking quality product to quality ethical conduct. Visit

Contact Information