National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

March 12, 2007 11:29 ET

Stars come out to honor recipients at 14th annual Achievement Awards

Stars come out to honour recipients at 14th annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards in Edmonton

Attention: Arts/Entertainment Editor, Assignment Editor, Business/Financial Editor, City Editor, News Editor TORONTO--(CCNMatthews - March 12, 2007) - Critically-acclaimed actor, Adam Beach (Flags of our Fathers) hosts the 14th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards on Friday, March 16 in Edmonton, Alberta honouring an extraordinary roster of 14 outstanding men and women recognized for their career contributions over the past year within the First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities.

APTN (Aboriginal Peoples Television Network) and Global Television, the exclusive network broadcast partners for this Gala event premiere the awards ceremony on Saturday, March 31 - 8pm ET/PT.

"We are delighted to welcome Global Television and APTN back as broadcast partners for this year's Achievement Awards, as we honour the 14 exceptional Aboriginal Awards recipients who have converted their potential into achievement." said Roberta Jamieson, CEO of NAAF. "This year's awards show is amazing! The audience will be taken on a wondrous journey of reflection and hope, energized by the fresh style and approach of our Creative Producer Jennifer Podemski, and enriched with the talent of our fabulous performers! I welcome everyone to come and enjoy the journey."

This year the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards is proud to announce that the Official After Party will be held at the Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium directly following the show. This fully catered, star-studded event will feature the musical stylings of Vancouver's DJ Kwe and promises to be the networking event of the year! Each gala ticket includes entry to the Official After Party.

One of Canada's biggest stars, Adam Beach, alongside the likes of 2007 Sundance winner Tamara Podemski, creative producer Jennifer Podemski, Genie-nominee Andrea Menard (The Velvet Devil), EMI recording artists Breach of Trust, Juno nominee Leela Gilday and many others including Edmonton's own Nathaniel Arcand and Dakota House will mix and mingle with the awards attendees after the gala event.

Reflection: honoring our past - celebrating our present - and creating our future will be exemplified in this inspiring night of truly exceptional talent, "told through a dazzling expression of traditional and contemporary dance, music, and comedy, the 2007 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards is a reflection of our spirit and cultural diversity; a reflection of our commitment to ourselves, our families and communities; a reflection of the knowledge we hold within our hearts, guiding our path, giving us strength to persevere and reach our highest potential," says Jennifer Podemski, creative producer.

Media accreditation information: Journalists who cannot attend but wish to receive media documentation should contact the media contacts listed below. Media representatives are requested to present themselves at least 15 minutes before each scheduled available interview/photo session. They will be asked to identify themselves by means of a press card or a corresponding ID card with a photo.

NOTE: A full schedule of sessions detailing dates and times of Talent availability will be ready by 5 p.m. Mountain time, Monday, March 12, 2007.

The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards were created in 1994 to celebrate and promote positive role models to Aboriginal youth. The awards are part of the work of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation, a non-profit organization that encourages and empowers young Aboriginal people in order to advance their educational and career opportunities. Since 1988, the Foundation has provided more than $23 million to deserving Aboriginal students across the country, with scholarship disbursements reaching more than $2.5 million each year.

Private Sector
Air Canada, Alliance Pipelines, APTN, BP Canada Energy Company, Casino Rama, Diavik Diamond Mines, Enbridge, Encana, First Air, Fort McKay, Global Television, IBM, Nexen Inc., Shell Canada Ltd., Suncor Energy Foundation, Syncrude

Public Sector
Government of Canada
Canadian Heritage, Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians, Health Canada, Human Resources and Social Development Canada, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, Industry Canada/Aboriginal Business Canada, Canadian Forces, Government of the Northwest Territories, Province of Alberta, City of Edmonton

For more information and media accreditation please contact:
Kim Ziervogel at K'Image Communications
780.490.6762 or 780.231.1873 (cell)
/For further information: Scott Cavan, Dir. Communications
416.926.0775 ext: 237

Contact Information

  • Scott Cavan, Director of Communications, National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
    Primary Phone: 416-926-0775 ext. 237
    Secondary Phone: 416-903-4331
    Toll-Free: 800-329-9780