SOURCE: The American Institute of Architects California Council

The American Institute of Architects California Council

August 19, 2009 13:29 ET

State Architect Group Recognizes 2009 Design Awards Recipients

American Institute of Architects, California Council Honors Projects Internationally and Statewide in Its Annual Design Awards Competition

SACRAMENTO, CA--(Marketwire - August 19, 2009) - Every year, since 1982, The American Institute of Architects, California Council (AIACC) has celebrated outstanding architecture through The AIACC Design Awards program. Once again, The AIACC, in partnership with energy performance experts at Savings By Design, proudly recognize and celebrate excellence in architecture and design, announcing the recipients of the annual Design Awards competition from 382 entrants. The AIACC's esteemed Design Awards jury was comprised of:

-- Sarah Amelar - Architectural Record
-- Julie Eizenberg, AIA - Koning Eizenberg Architecture, Inc.
-- Thomas Hacker, FAIA - THA Architecture, Inc.
-- William E. Leddy, FAIA - Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects
-- Richard Manning, AIA - Green Building Services

Five Honor Awards for Architecture category include:

-- 355 11th Street (San Francisco, CA)
       Aidlin Darling Design

-- WATER + LIFE Museums and Campus (Hemet, CA)
       Lehrer + Gangi Design Build

-- Madrid Public Housing (Madrid, Spain)
       Morphosis Architects

-- Sava Pool (Larsen Park, San Francisco, CA)
       Mark Cavagnero Associates and Paulett Taggart Architects

-- The Cathedral of Christ the Light (Oakland, CA)
       Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

Eleven Merit Awards for Architecture include:

-- 185 Post Street (San Francisco, CA)
       Brand + Allen Architects, Inc.

-- 700 Palms Residence (Venice, CA)
       Ehrlich Architects

-- Salvation Army Ray & Joan Kroc Corps Community Center & Railton Place
   Housing (San Francisco, CA)
       Herman Coliver Locus Architecture

-- San Francisco Museum of Modern Art Rooftop Garden (San Francisco, CA)
       Jensen Architects

-- Cahill Center for Astrophysics (Pasadena, CA)
       Morphosis Architects

-- NOAA Satellite Operations Facility (Suitland, MD)
       Morphosis Architects

-- James and Rosemary Nix Nature Center (Laguna Canyon
   Wilderness Park, CA)
       Roesling Nakamura Terada

-- Portola Valley Town Center (Portola Valley, CA)
       Siegel & Strain Architects / Goring and Straja Architects

-- Congregation Beth Sholom (San Francisco, CA)
       Stanley Saitowitz / Natoma Architects, Inc.

-- Teahouses (Silicon Valley, CA)
       Swatt | Miers Architects

-- Diamond Project (San Francisco, CA)
       Terry & Terry Architecture

Three Merit Awards for Interior Architecture include:

-- BMW DesignworksUSA Studio (Newbury Park, CA)
       Daly Genik

-- Wind Portal at BART Station, SFO (San Francisco, CA)
       Paul Woolford, AIA, LEED AP

-- Conduit Restaurant (San Francisco, CA)
       Stanley Saitowitz / Natoma Architects, Inc.

One Honor Award was given for Small Project:

-- Texas Prairie Hopper (Fort Worth, TX)
       Anderson Anderson Architecture

Four Merit Awards for Small Project category include:

-- ke-aro’-skoor’o (Southern California Institute of Architecture,
   Los Angeles, CA)
       Hodgetts+Fung Design and Architecture

-- Bike Arc (Palo Alto, CA)
       Joseph Bellomo Architects, Inc.

-- Kayak Hut at Mission Creek Sports Park (San Francisco, CA)
       MK Think

-- Conditional Reflections (Denver, CO)
       UrbanRock Design

For the entire list and comprehensive project description (architect/firm, jury comments and photos), please visit:

The AIACC represents the interests of more than 11,000 architects and allied professionals in California. Founded in 1944, The AIACC's mission supports architects in their endeavor to improve the quality of life for all Californians by creating more livable communities, sustainable designs and quality work environments. The AIACC is the largest component of the national AIA organization. For more information, visit

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Lori Reed
    Director, Marketing and Communications
    (916) 448-9082
    Email Contact