SOURCE: The American Institute of Architects California Council

The American Institute of Architects California Council

October 21, 2010 18:00 ET

State Architect Group Recognizes The 2010 Design Award Recipients

The American Institute of Architects, California Council Honors Projects Internationally and Statewide in Its Annual Design Awards Competition

SACRAMENTO, CA--(Marketwire - October 21, 2010) -  For 29 years The American Institute of Architects, California Council (AIACC) has celebrated outstanding architecture through The AIACC Design Awards program. Once again, The AIACC proudly recognizes excellence in architecture and design, announcing the recipients of this year's Design Awards competition and celebrates the value of design.

Architects realize that design is about relationships, not just "looks." It's about how look and feel, use and comfort, stability and durability come together to support one another. How light shapes space and space shapes light -- and how light and space together suggest where we would most like to sit. There are less tangible benefits, too, like the delight that people find in good buildings.

Design is only one component of architecture, but a very important one, from many view points. As a community, citizens utilize and enjoy the structure through all the amenities it offers. Albeit an office building, day care center, courtyard, pedestrian access, parking access, historical perspective, as well as how the building serves the respective community and affects its overall view, including the skyline. Design matters to the architect, as well as to those it serves, often for generations to come.

More than 325 submittals were reviewed by the esteemed Design Awards jury comprised of: Annie Chu, AIA, Principal, Chu + Gooding Architects, Los Angeles, CA; Peter H. Dodge, FAIA, Consulting Founding Partner, EHDD Architecture, San Francisco, CA; Robert Ivy, FAIA, Editor in Chief, Architectural Record, New York, NY; Stephen Kieran, FAIA, Kieran Timberlake, Philadelphia, PA; Maryann Thompson, FAIA, Maryann Thompson Architects, Cambridge, MA.

For the entire list and comprehensive project description, (architect/firm, jury comments and photos), please visit The AIACC website at Or, visit the individual architect's website listed next to each award recipient.

The Seven Honor Awards bestowed for Architecture design include the following structures and respective architects and/or architectural firms:

Fifteen Merit Awards were given for design of Architecture:

Two Honor Awards were given for Interior Architecture:

Three Merit Awards were given for Interior Architecture:

Five Merit Awards were given for Small Projects:

The AIACC represents the interests of more than 11,000 architects and allied professionals in California. Founded in 1944, The AIACC's mission supports architects in their endeavor to improve the quality of life for all Californians by creating more livable communities, sustainable designs and quality work environments. The AIACC is the largest component of the national AIA organization. For more information, visit

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Mandi Hultsman
    Assoc. Director of Awards and
    Professional Development
    (916) 642-1717
    Email Contact