Department of Canadian Heritage

Department of Canadian Heritage

June 05, 2015 12:07 ET

Statement by Minister Glover on the 2015 Griffin Poetry Prize Winners

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - June 5, 2015) - Poetry, a universal form of expression, plays a central role in Canada's rich literary tradition. Poetry entertains us, moves us and enriches our lives.

The Griffin Poetry Prize Awards, presented every year in a Canadian and an International category, reward outstanding collections of poetry in English. This year's winners will each receive $65,000.

I would like to congratulate Jane Munro, winner of the Griffin Poetry Prize in the Canadian category for Blue Sonoma.

Congratulations, as well, to Michael Longley, winner of the Griffin Poetry Prize in the International category, for The Stairwell.

I would also like to recognize the other finalists:

Canadian category

Shane Book, for Congotronic

Russell Thornton, for The Hundred Lives

International category

Wang Xiaoni, for Something Crosses My Mind

Wioletta Greg, for Finite Formulae & Theories of Chance

Spencer Reece, for The Road to Emmaus

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to thank the Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry for honouring poets everywhere by presenting these prestigious awards since 2001.

Stay Connected

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, Facebook, and Flickr.

Contact Information

  • Marisa Monnin
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages