Department of Canadian Heritage

Department of Canadian Heritage

April 09, 2015 14:51 ET

Statement by Minister Glover on the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - April 9, 2015) - Our artists and artisans, passionate people who dedicate themselves to the performing arts and help enrich Canada's cultural scene, deserve our full admiration and thanks. We are immensely pleased to honour them today.

Since 1992, the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards have recognized the artists and volunteers who work in this field and have made outstanding contributions to Canada's cultural life.

Our Government knows that the people and organizations dedicated to the arts ensure the cultural and economic growth of our communities, while enriching the quality of life of all Canadians.

On behalf of the Government of Canada, I congratulate the recipients of the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards: Walter Boudreau, Diana Leblanc, Sarah McLachlan and R.H. Thomson. I would also like to congratulate Michael M. Koerner, recipient of the Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts, as well as Jean-Marc Vallée, recipient of the National Arts Centre Award.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards Foundation and the National Arts Centre for showcasing Canadian artistic talent each year through these prestigious awards.

Stay Connected

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, Facebook and Flickr.

Contact Information

  • Marisa Monnin
    Communications Director
    Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages