Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

November 10, 2010 13:45 ET

Statement by the Honourable Gary Lunn, Minister of State (Sport), on the Occasion of Canada's Sports Hall of Fame Induction

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 10, 2010) - Canada's athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians, and there is no doubt that this past year, Canada has had much to celebrate. Our Government is proud to support and promote the dedication and commitment of our elite athletes. We are also very pleased to celebrate their many achievements, including the induction of this year's honourees into Canada's Sports Hall of Fame.

This year, the Hall of Fame welcomes athletes Jacques Villeneuve, Kyle Shewfelt, Patrick Roy, Chantal Petitclerc, Clara Hughes, and Jean-Luc Brassard, as well as builders Roger Jackson and Bob Ackles, as its newest members.

As Minister of State (Sport), I would like to congratulate this year's inductees into Canada's Sports Hall of Fame. Your drive and commitment to excellence have taken you to the pinnacle of your sport, and from now on, generations of Canadians who visit the Hall of Fame will be reminded of you and inspired by your achievements. I would also like to commend everyone involved with Canada's Sports Hall of Fame on the work they do to promote and pay tribute to our fantastic athletes.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Honourable Gary Lunn, P.C., M.P.
    Minister of State (Sport)
    Vanessa Schneider - Director of Communications