Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

November 17, 2008 12:14 ET

Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 17, 2008) -

It is my great pleasure to congratulate the winners of the 2008 Governor General's Awards for Excellence in Teaching Canadian History:

Jean-Pierre Frigon - Saint-Tite, Quebec
Nancy Hamer Strahl - Port Perry, Ontario
Bev Milobar den-Ouden - Edmonton, Alberta
Anne Tenning - Victoria, British Columbia
Joe Stafford - Belleville, Ontario
Mike Ward - Lake Cowichan, British Columbia

This year's six winners are to be commended on their commitment to helping young people in Canada gain a better understanding of our country. Their innovative teaching strategies make our history come alive and inspire a generation of young Canadians to appreciate the people and events that have shaped this wonderful country.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I want to thank these teachers for sharing their enthusiasm for our proud history with young people across Canada.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken
    Director of Communications