Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

November 18, 2009 17:13 ET

Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Occasion of the 2009 Governor General's Literary Awards

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 18, 2009) - Book lovers around the world appreciate works by Canadian authors. Canadian novels transport the reader, non-fiction informs and educates, and volumes of poetry provide inspiration. Canadian authors are a cornerstone of our identity and a great reflection of Canadian values. The Governor General's Literary Awards are among Canada's most prestigious and comprehensive awards for English- and French-language Canadian literature. Each year, the Canada Council for the Arts and Her Excellency, the Governor General of Canada, collaborate to honour the finest in Canadian literature.

The winners of the 2009 Awards were announced on November 17 by the Canada Council for the Arts. The seven English and seven French awards are presented to authors, illustrators, and translators and in the categories of fiction, poetry, drama, non-fiction, children's literature (text and illustration), and translation. This year, 12 of the 14 winners received this award for the very first time.

For the first time, one book has won in both categories of children's literature (text and illustration): Harvey by author Herve Bouchard and illustrator Janice Nadeau, a three-time Award-winner.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to congratulate all the winners of this year's Governor General's Literary Awards. I also want to commend the finalists on their fine work. Together, you have provided inspiration for other Canadians and hours of reading enjoyment for millions of people around the world.

For the full list of winners, visit the website of the Canada Council for the Arts(

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken - Director of Communications