Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

November 10, 2010 09:37 ET

Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Occasion of the 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 10, 2010) - Story-telling has always had the power to touch, surprise, uplift, and entertain. Today's writers of fiction follow in that creative tradition, and Canada is blessed with many gifted authors who skilfully tell our stories and nourish our imaginations.

Every year since 1994, the prestigious Giller Prize has been awarded to a Canadian novel or short-story collection written in English. Our Government recognizes the importance of literature—and a healthy book publishing industry—to Canadian culture and identity, and we applaud the Giller for recognizing excellence in Canadian fiction and celebrating our writers.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to congratulate Johanna Skibsrud, winner of the 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize for her novel The Sentimentalists. I also congratulate the other finalists on their achievements. We are proud of you all and are pleased that your works will receive the recognition and readership they so richly deserve, both in Canada and internationally. Thank you to Jack Rabinovitch and Scotiabank for supporting Canadian fiction and our talented story-tellers with such generosity.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Codie Taylor - Press Secretary