Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

February 09, 2010 12:07 ET

Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Presentation of the 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Feb. 9, 2010) - Works of non-fiction-with their power to inform and enlighten, as well as entertain-make it possible for readers to better understand their country and the world they live in. Canada is home to many talented authors who are able to share their experiences and insights through their writing

The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction was established in 1998 to commemorate the life and work of one of Canada's foremost literary non-fiction writers, the late Charles Taylor. This prestigious award is presented to a Canadian author whose book best demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception.

I offer my congratulations to this year's winner, Ian Brown, for his book The Boy in the Moon: A Father's Search for His Disabled Son.

I would also like to acknowledge the success of the three other finalists, John English, Daniel Poliquin, and Kenneth Whyte.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to recognize the hard work of this year's winner, as well as all the shortlisted finalists. I would also like to commend the Charles Taylor Foundation on its efforts to enhance public appreciation for literary non-fiction and to recognize excellence among Canadian writers.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken - Director of Communications