Government of Canada

Government of Canada

November 04, 2015 10:57 ET

Statement by the Prime Minister of Canada Following the Swearing-in of the 29th Ministry

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Nov. 4, 2015) - The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, today issued the following statement after the swearing-in of the 29th Ministry:

"Canadians from all across this country sent a message that it is time for real change, and I am deeply honoured by the faith they have placed in my team and me. Canadians chose a positive and optimistic plan for the future, and we will immediately begin implementing our plan for a strong middle class.

"Today we have the pleasure of introducing the team of extraordinary Canadians who will serve in the new Ministry. This strong, diverse, and experienced team will serve all Canadians, and for the first time in our country's history, there will be an equal number of women and men around the Cabinet table.

"Canadians expect to see their values and priorities reflected in their government, and we have listened closely to them. Canadians told us what kind of government they want, and we built the plan to make it happen.

"We are committed to investing in our economy, strengthening the middle class, and helping those working hard to join it. We will invest in job creation and broad-based prosperity to ensure every Canadian has a real and fair chance to succeed.

"We will shine more light on government to ensure it remains focused on the people it is meant to serve. Openness and transparency will be our constant companions, and we will work to restore Canadians' trust in their government and in our democracy. We are committed to the highest ethical standards and applying the utmost care in the handling of public funds.

"We will demonstrate national leadership and work with the provinces and territories to take real action on climate change and create the clean jobs of tomorrow.

"We will further strengthen our great country with a renewed, nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous Peoples, based on a recognition of rights, respect, co-operation, and partnership. We will fulfil our sacred obligation to Canadian veterans and their families, who have given so much in service to our country. We are committed to both the security and safety of Canadians and the protection of their rights and freedoms. We will also reinvest in our cultural and creative industries and create an immigration system grounded in both compassion and economic opportunity.

"Canada is strong not in spite of its diversity, but because of it, and we are committed to bringing new leadership and a new tone to Ottawa. We also made a commitment to pursue our goals with a renewed sense of collaboration. Most importantly, we will be a government that governs for all Canadians and brings Canadians together.

"We will work tirelessly to honour the trust Canadians have given us, and together build an even better future for our children and grandchildren."

This document is also available at

(by order of precedence)

The Right Honourable Justin P. J. Trudeau
Prime Minister

The Honourable Ralph Goodale
Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

The Honourable Lawrence MacAulay
Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

The Honourable Stéphane Dion
Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Honourable John McCallum
Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship

The Honourable Carolyn Bennett
Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs

The Honourable Scott Brison
President of the Treasury Board

The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc
Leader of the Government in the House of Commons

The Honourable Navdeep Singh Bains
Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development

The Honourable William Francis Morneau
Minister of Finance

The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould
Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

The Honourable Judy M. Foote
Minister of Public Services and Procurement

The Honourable Chrystia Freeland
Minister of International Trade

The Honourable Jane Philpott
Minister of Health

The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos
Minister of Families, Children and Social Development

The Honourable Marc Garneau
Minister of Transport

The Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau
Minister of International Development and La Francophonie

The Honourable James Gordon Carr
Minister of Natural Resources

The Honourable Mélanie Joly
Minister of Canadian Heritage

The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier
Minister of National Revenue

The Honourable Kent Hehr
Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence

The Honourable Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change

The Honourable Harjit Singh Sajjan
Minister of National Defence

The Honourable MaryAnn Mihychuk
Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour

The Honourable Amarjeet Sohi
Minister of Infrastructure and Communities

The Honourable Maryam Monsef
Minister of Democratic Institutions

The Honourable Carla Qualtrough
Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities

The Honourable Hunter Tootoo
Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan
Minister of Science

The Honourable Patricia A. Hajdu
Minister of Status of Women

The Honourable Bardish Chagger
Minister of Small Business and Tourism

Contact Information

  • PMO Media Relations: