Monsanto Canada Inc.

Monsanto Canada Inc.

September 24, 2013 11:42 ET

Students from Farm Families Earn $1,500 Monsanto Fund Post-Secondary Scholarships to Pursue Agricultural Education

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwired - Sept. 24, 2013) - Sixty-seven (67) graduating high school students from farm families across Canada are starting off the school year a little richer after receiving a $1,500 entrance scholarship from the Monsanto Fund.

The 2013 Monsanto Fund Opportunity Scholarship program awarded a total of $100,500 in scholarship funding to students pursuing studies in agriculture or an agricultural-related field - up from the $93,000 awarded to 62 student winners in 2012. Since first launching its scholarship program in 1991, the Monsanto Fund, and Monsanto Canada, has provided well over $1.5 million to hundreds of rural students who have chosen to study agriculture and pursue careers in the agricultural sector.

"The Monsanto Fund has a strong commitment to rural communities and rural education, particularly in the areas of science and math," said Trish Jordan, public and industry affairs director with Monsanto Canada. "The scholarship program is one way we can encourage students to consider studies in agricultural sciences, and hopefully a future career in our industry. It's great to see these students committing to agriculture and expressing a desire to stay connected to their roots, as it will strengthen our business and our industry in the long-term."

The Monsanto Fund Opportunity Scholarship program received over 190 applications from rural students across the country this year, up from approximately 160 applications received in 2012. The winners were selected by an independent panel of judges based on their academic performance, leadership capabilities and involvement in giving back to charitable or other service groups in their local communities. All applicants were also required to submit an application essay that answered the question, "In what area of agriculture would you like to work and why?"

The 2013 Monsanto Fund Opportunity Scholarship winners are all Grade 12 graduates from farm families who are enrolled in a first-year degree or diploma program in agriculture or an agricultural-related field this fall at a recognized Canadian educational institution.

The Monsanto Fund Opportunity Scholarship program is administered independent of the Monsanto Fund by the not-for-profit, charitable group - Agriculture in the Classroom-Manitoba Inc. All scholarship applications were reviewed by an independent, external judging panel comprised of: Robert Bulman, director of brand management for Qualico; Sue Clayton, community liaison coordinator with the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences at the University of Manitoba; Ellen Pruden, education and promotion manager with Manitoba Canola Growers Association; Delaney Ross Burtnack, president and chief executive officer of the Canadian Association of Agri-Retailers (CAAR); and program administrator Johanne Ross, executive director, of Agriculture in the Classroom-Manitoba Inc.

"It is rewarding to assist in administering the scholarships to such deserving students and get a glimpse of the incredible skills and talents they will bring to the industry," said Ross. "Reading the student essays really drives home what impact agriculture has already had on their lives. They recognize the dynamic and diverse opportunities that will be available to them and they are very motivated to become a part of this industry and contribute in so many different ways."

Details on the launch of the 2014 Monsanto Fund Opportunity Scholarship Program will be released in February 2014 and will also be available online at

About the Monsanto Fund

The Monsanto Fund, the philanthropic arm of the Monsanto Company, is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to strengthening the communities where farmers and Monsanto Company employees live and work. Visit the Monsanto Fund at

About Monsanto Canada

Headquartered in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Monsanto Canada Inc. is part of the larger global Monsanto family. Monsanto Company is an agricultural company and a leading global provider of technology-based solutions and agricultural products that improve farm productivity and food quality. Monsanto remains focused on enabling both small-holder and large-scale farmers to produce more from their land while conserving more of our world's natural resources such as water and energy. Learn more about our business and our commitments at

NOTE: The complete list of Monsanto Canada 2013 Monsanto Fund Opportunity Scholarship winners, by province, is included below.

2013 Monsanto Fund Opportunity Scholarship Winners

Duncan Brooke Harrison Mills, BC Erin Anderson Scandia, AB
Brianna Elliot Rock Creek, BC Shaylene Braun New Norway, AB
Alexandra Hayes Canyon, BC Gerené Cole Coronation, AB
Colby Harty Etzikom, AB
Larissa Lupul Foisy, AB
Jade Marshall Innisfail, AB
SASKATCHEWAN Kathleen Murphy Lacombe, AB
Bayley Blackwell Dinsmore, SK Lee Noble Manning, AB
Taylor Borowetz Hudson Bay, SK Moniek Okkema Vermilion, AB
Bethany Harland Frenchman Butte, SK Alex Ostergard Drumheller, AB
Anique Josuttes Paradise Hill, SK Seanna Pashulka St. Paul, AB
Dylan Knittig Annaheim, SK Laci Schmidt Wetaskiwin, AB
Samantha McKee Turtleford, SK
Mackenzie Mueller Humboldt, SK MANITOBA
Victoria Nameth Cupar, SK Emily Boonstra Marquette, MB
Jonathan Neigum Unity, SK Nicholas Claeys Cypress River, MB
Anne Nerbas Waseca, SK Thomas (Rigby) DeVos Fork River, MB
Allie Noble Mossbank, SK Carlene Dmytriw Minnedosa, MB
Halayna Tetrault Spiritwood, SK Alison Greaves Miniota, MB
Jacqueline Toews Glaslyn, SK Laura McDowell Deleau, MB
Lindsay Wells Glaslyn, SK Beatriz (Jimena) Montenegro Kenton, MB
Bailey Wilson Tugaske, SK Erik Nielsen Starbuck, MB
Alanna Orsak Binscarth, MB
Amy Pizzey Binscarth, MB
Jordan Robertson Treherne, MB
Courtney Smith Rorketon, MB
Raina Syrnyk Ethelbert, MB
Katelyn Ayers Orillia, ON Samantha Brazel St-Isidore-de-Clifton, QC
Dennis Catt St. Thomas, ON Shelby Drew Canton-de-Hatley, QC
Carmen Continisio Beamsville, ON Olivier Marquis St-Alexandre-de-Kam, QC
Vanessa Crowley Hastings, ON Jérémie Messerli St-André-d'Argenteuil, QC
Emma Drake Beaverton, ON David Michaud St-André-de Kamouraska, QC
Samantha Farquharson Mt. Brydges, ON
Tanja Gaehwiler New Liskeard, ON MARITIMES
Allison Goetheyn Dresden, ON Kasadee Allan Glassville, NB
Marinda Gras Granton, ON Berdina Bakker Killoween, NB
Maria Knap Clinton, ON Alana Bent Lawrencetown, NS
Shannon Langridge Picton, ON Jillian Bent Middleton, NS
Brendan McDougall Smithville, ON
Katelyn O'Neil Denfield, ON
Henry Prinzen Jarvis, ON
Deanna Ringelberg Troy, ON

Contact Information