Monsanto Canada Inc.

Monsanto Canada Inc.

September 12, 2008 11:54 ET

Students Head to University With Dollars in Their Pockets

Monsanto Canada awards over $100,000 to rural students pursuing studies in agriculture or forestry

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - Sept. 12, 2008) - Fall is always associated with heading back to school. And this year, 70 outstanding students who plan to pursue studies in agriculture or forestry are $1,500 richer after Monsanto Canada announced the list of winners in its 2008 Opportunity Scholarship Program.

The Monsanto Canada Opportunity Scholarship Program received its highest number of applications ever in 2008 with over 172 students from coast to coast applying for an entrance scholarship. The winners were selected by an independent panel of judges based on their academic performance, leadership capabilities and involvement in giving back to charities or other service groups in their local communities. All applicants were also required to submit an application essay that answered the question, "In what area of agriculture or forestry would you like to work and why?"

"Monsanto Canada is a big supporter of science and agricultural education programs and we've made a concerted effort to raise awareness of opportunities in the agricultural sector and support students who want to pursue agriculture or forestry as a career path," said Trish Jordan, Monsanto Canada's director of public affairs and coordinator of the scholarship program. "It's just great to see such a positive response to our program. I wish we could have helped every student who applied."

The 2008 Opportunity Scholarship winners are all high school graduates from a farm family who are now enrolled in a first-year agriculture or forestry-related degree or diploma program at a recognized Canadian educational institution.

This year's scholarship judging panel included: Bob Adamson, director of the Agriculture Biotechnology Enrichment (ABE) program; John Morriss, associate publisher and editorial director Farm Business Communications; Ellen Pruden, education and promotions coordinator with the Manitoba Canola Growers Association; and Johanne Ross, executive director, Agriculture in the Classroom - Manitoba.

Monsanto Canada has been awarding entrance scholarships since 1991 as a means to support rural youth and encourage students to explore studies and hopefully a career in agriculture or forestry. Since the program's inception, almost $1 million has been awarded to hundreds of deserving students. Details on the launch of the 2009 Monsanto Canada Opportunity Scholarship Program will be released in February 2009 and will also be available online at

Based in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Monsanto Canada is a leading provider of technology-based solutions and agricultural products that improve farm productivity and food quality.

Monsanto Canada 2008
Opportunity Scholarship Winners

-------- --------------
Brady Bartlett Fairview Carmen Danyluk Kamsack
Krysta Chichak Smoky Lake Lindsay Griffith Bangor
Kody Czwill Athabasca Sarah Hardy Grenfell
Natasha Kutryk Beauvallon Angela Japp Eston
Amy Mayner Bluffton Luc Mariani Duck Lake
Jolene Noble Manning Spencer Maxwell Nipawin
Jason Schonknecht Barrhead Chelsy Ostoforoff Canora
April Stanko Lomond Matthew Peters Lancer
Mechtelje van de Brake Lacombe Holly Severin Young
Emily Wall Stirling Stacey Shewchuk Wishart
Melissa Westling Clive Hilary Steinbach Bushell Park
Rebecca Street White Fox
Kirsten Theaker Eatonia
Vanessa Vandertweel Gronlid
Kaleb Wagner Lancer
Devon Wilson Tugaske
Autumn Darker Beulah
Sarah Enns Cartwright
Stephanie Foote Killarney
David Gaston Brunkild
Brooke Lowes McAuley
Julie Mitchell Roblin BRITISH COLUMBIA
Brett Ostberg Dominion City ------------------
Mackenzie Ross Minnedosa Marty Franke McBride
Bonnie Schott Warren Peter Rashleigh Saanichton
Heather Sparkes Arborg Cody Turner Pritchard
Jarrad Toews Winkler
Joe Wallace Pilot Mound
Kirby Wheelans Tilston
Melissa Wiebe Altona

-------- --------
Emmalee Agnew Cobden Joelle Cantin St-Leonard d'Aston
Laura Bowers Brussels Joel Desrochers Jr. Warwick
Timo Brielmann Pinewood Nicolas LaChance Stornoway
Stephanie Campbell Perth Audrey Lafortune St-Roch-de-l'Achigan
Joseph Daunt Hay Jerome Pelletier Sainte-Jeanne D'arc
Ferguson North Lancaster
Rebecca Hannam Guelph
Jaclyn Hutton Monkton
Mary Elizabeth
Konrad Peterborough
Susan McCormick Inwood
Christine O'Reilly Granton
Dianne Raycraft Milverton
Linda Slits Brunner
Cameron Towers Glencoe
Joseph VanQuaethem Tillsonburg
Nicole Watson St. Thomas
Sarah Wilkins Jarvis

Jason DeHaan Cornwall, PEI
Marc-Andre Durette Saint-Martin-De
- Restigarde, NB
Michelle Hickey Kensington, PEI
Robert Newcombe Port Williams, NS

Contact Information