SOURCE: Cutting Edge Information

Cutting Edge Information

November 09, 2010 09:41 ET

Successful Clinical Development Strategies in Emerging Markets

Upcoming Webinars Examine Key Areas Including Patient Enrollment and Regulatory Differences, From Cutting Edge Information

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC--(Marketwire - November 9, 2010) -  Cutting Edge Information begins a series of webinars on Clinical Development in Emerging Markets this week. "On Top of the World: Decoding Clinical Operations in Emerging Markets," starting Wednesday, will provide a comprehensive look at different clinical landscapes in developing economies.

Thousands of clinical trials are ongoing in the United States and Western Europe. But pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical device and other life science companies have found it increasingly difficult to meet the patient enrollment numbers needed to give a new treatment the best chance of regulatory approval. 

"Many companies have turned to the popular 'BRIC' markets (Brazil, Russia, India and China) and, more recently, a large group of even newer markets for access to roughly three billion potential new clinical trial volunteers," said Jason Richardson, president of Cutting Edge Information. "That represents several times the medically eligible population in the United States and traditional European markets."

Wednesday's webinar presentation is based on recent clinical management research for Brazil, Russia, India, China, Africa, Mexico, Eastern Europe, Southeast Asia and South America.

"Questions of quality, different regulatory frameworks, intellectual property laws and cost structures can be incredibly complex for clinical development teams working globally," said Eric Bolesh, director of research at Cutting Edge Information. "You need to understand the advantages and challenges before choosing a particular location for a particular trial."

The webinar discussion will include factors such as data quality, site management and technology infrastructure as well as emerging 'next practices' to build a positive reputation among investigators, patients, governments and other key stakeholders.

The research team will host live online discussions several times to facilitate easier participation:

Wednesday, November 10th at 19:00 GMT (2:00 p.m. EST) -- Reserve a "Top of the World" registration for this time

Friday, November 12th at 12:00 GMT (7:00 a.m. EST) -- Reserve a "Top of the World" registration for this time

Thursday, November 18th at 00:00 GMT (7:00 p.m. EST) -- Reserve a "Top of the World" registration for this time

Cutting Edge Information will release its newest report, "Emerging Markets Clinical Development Series: Brazil, Russia, India and China" on November 15. 

Contact Information

  • For media inquiries, contact
    Stephanie Swanson
    919-403-6583
    Email Contact