SOURCE: McDonald's Corporation

March 23, 2005 07:00 ET

Sweet 16 Dominated by Former McDonald's All American™ Players

Future NCAA Stars to Be Showcased on March 30

OAK BROOK, IL -- (MARKET WIRE) -- March 23, 2005 -- The "Big Dance" is the ultimate in college basketball, and the field of 65 teams in the NCAA tournament has been paired down to 16 lucky squads who hope their dance card remains full all the way to the Final Four in St. Louis. Most people have their own equation to determine the winner, but if history is any indication, the following 10 teams have strong odds for the NCAA Championship because they have a McDonald's All American on their roster.

At least one McDonald's All American boy has been part of every title since 1979 until 2002 when the University of Maryland won without a McDonald's All American. In 2003, the streak began again with a victory by Syracuse University. In all, 71 alumni have played a role in at least one NCAA title.

Combined, there are 23 McDonald's All Americans among the remaining 16 teams in the 2005 NCAA tournament. The players, the year they played in the McDonald's All American Game® and their schools are:

     Name                Year Played               School
   -------               -----------              --------
Hassan Adams                2002                Arizona
Jawann McClellan            2004                Arizona
Mustafa Shakur              2003                Arizona
Sean Dockery                2002                Duke
Daniel Ewing                2001                Duke
DeMarcus Nelson             2004                Duke
Shavlik Randolph            2002                Duke
J.J. Redick                 2002                Duke
Dee Brown                   2002                Illinois
Joe Crawford                2004                Kentucky
Randolph Morris             2004                Kentucky
Rajon Rondo                 2004                Kentucky
David Padgett               2003                Louisville
Shannon Brown               2003                Michigan State
Paul Davis                  2002                Michigan State
Kelvin Torbert              2001                Michigan State
Raymond Felton              2002                North Carolina
Sean May                    2002                North Carolina
Rashad McCants              2002                North Carolina
Marvin Williams             2004                North Carolina
Julius Hodge                2001                North Carolina State
Brian Butch                 2003                Wisconsin
Jason Fraser                2002                Villanova
The NCAA stars of tomorrow will be showcased during the McDonald's All American High School Basketball Game® on March 30, 2005, just days before the 2005 Final Four. Twelve of the 24 boys 2005 McDonald's All Americans are attending a 2005 Sweet 16 school next fall.

2005 marks the 28th year for the McDonald's All American Boys Game and the fourth annual Girls Game. The Boys Team will take the court at Notre Dame's Joyce Center on Wednesday, March 30 at 8 p.m. (EST) and the Game will air live on ESPN. The Girls Game will be held on March 30 at 5:30 p.m. (EST) and will air on ESPN2 on March 31 at 5:00 p.m. (EST). The primary purpose of the McDonald's All American Game is to raise funds for Ronald McDonald House Charities® (RMHC®).

Tickets for the Game are still available at or by calling 1-866-909-GAME.

McDonald's is the leading global foodservice retailer with more than 30,000 local restaurants serving nearly 50 million people in 119 countries each day. Approximately 70 percent of McDonald's restaurants worldwide are owned and operated by independent, local businessmen and women.

© 2005 McDonald's Corporation and affiliates

Contact Information