SOURCE: Tapulous

Tapulous, maker of the wildly popular iPhone and iPod touch music game Tap Tap Revenge.

May 12, 2010 07:00 ET

Tapulous Unveils Tap Tap Revenge App Featuring Nirvana

Takes Tap Tap Revenge Franchise to the Next Level With Nirvana Revenge, Featuring 13 Massive Hits From the Iconic Band

PALO ALTO, CA--(Marketwire - May 12, 2010) -  Tapulous, maker of the wildly popular iPhone and iPod touch music game Tap Tap Revenge, announced the availability of the Nirvana Revenge App, the latest addition to the Tap Tap Revenge franchise. This special edition game features thirteen of the iconic band's massive hits, including "All Apologies," "Smells Like Teen Spirit," and "Come As You Are."

The Nirvana Revenge app features the high quality gameplay that Tap Tap Revenge players have come to expect. The game offers superior stability, blazing performance, and four addictive difficulty levels. Accompanying the "career" mode tracks is a Bluetooth-based Battle Mode where players wirelessly challenge friends to a point-by-point battle for bragging rights on who's the ultimate Nirvana fan. And there are four rich boss tracks in landscape, customized for each song.

Nirvana Revenge App players can enjoy Nirvana content, including a history section that tracks the course of the band and the Seattle music scene. In addition, for the first time in Tap Tap Revenge, players will be treated to narrative vignettes for each track, which offer back-stories related to the songs and comments about the band and their music. The narrative vignettes are from the "Nightly Nirvana Sessions" courtesy of KNDD, 107.7 'The End' in Seattle.

"Nirvana ushered in a new era in music in the 90s and had an enormous impact with their culture-shifting sound," said Tim O'Brien, VP of business development at Tapulous. "Nirvana's music appeal reaches beyond its own generation and is now being introduced to a younger generation of music fans who are discovering the band's music for the first time. That's why we're especially excited to add Nirvana to our growing Tap Tap Revenge family, and to bring Nirvana Revenge App to a whole new generation of music fans."

The Nirvana Revenge App includes thirteen classic Nirvana songs:

  • "All Apologies" (In Utero, 1993)
  • "Breed" (Nevermind, 1991)
  • "Breed" (Live at Reading, 2009)*
  • "Come As You Are" (Nevermind, 1991)
  • "Heart Shaped Box" (In Utero, 1993)
  • "In Bloom" (Nevermind, 1991)
  • "Lithium" (Nevermind, 1991)
  • "Lithium" (Live at Reading, 2009)*
  • "Rape Me" (In Utero, 1993)
  • "Smells Like Teen Spirit" (Nevermind, 1991)
  • "Smells Like Teen Spirit" (Live at Reading, 2009)*
  • "Stay Away" (Nevermind, 1991)
  • "You Know You're Right" (Nirvana, 2002)**

* Live at Reading was from the 1992 performance at the Reading Festival.
** "You Know You're Right" was recorded in 1994 and appears on the compilation album Nirvana.

The Nirvana Revenge App is available for $4.99 from the App Store on iPhone and iPod touch or at

About Tapulous
Tapulous is a leading developer on the App Store with more than 30 million users, growing every day. Its flagship, Tap Tap Revenge, is the first gaming franchise on the iPhone and one of the most downloaded games on the iPhone and iPod touch. Founded in 2008 and based in Palo Alto, California, the company is angel funded and profitable. For more information, please visit Friend and follow us on Twitter: @tapulous, @taptaprevenge, @riddimribbon, and

Contact Information