SOURCE: Nova Scotia Teachers Union

May 25, 2016 20:01 ET

Teachers' Union to Hold Second Ballot for NSTU Presidential Election

HALIFAX, NS--(Marketwired - May 25, 2016) -  Public school teachers, Nova Scotia Community College faculty and professional support staff, and NSTU members working for the Atlantic Provinces' Special Education Authority will vote in a run-off election for the presidency of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union on Thursday, June 2.

The first round of voting by the 10,300 members of the NSTU was conducted electronically today, but did not produce a winner. To become president of the NSTU, a candidate must win with a majority of votes (50 per cent + 1).

Liette Doucet and Wally Fiander are candidates for the second ballot. Four other members from today's first ballot, Damian Hall, Shawn Hanifen, Cyril MacGillivray, and Paul Wozney, have been dropped from the slate.

Just over 62 per cent of NSTU's membership participated in the electronic vote. The June 2 run-off election will again be conducted using on-line voting.

Contact Information

  • More info/Contact:
    Angela Murray
    PR Coordinator
    Cell: 902-497-0194
    twitter @NSTeachersUnion