SOURCE: Tech Council of Maryland

Tech Council of Maryland

April 27, 2012 07:00 ET

Tech Council of Maryland Announces Winners of 2012 TCM Tech Awards

ROCKVILLE, MD--(Marketwire - Apr 27, 2012) - The Tech Council of Maryland (TCM), Maryland's largest technology trade association with more than 400 biotechnology and technology members employing more than 200,000 in the region, last night announced the winners of its 2012 TCM Tech Awards. The annual celebration drew 850 technology and business leaders from around the state including Senator Jennie Forehand; Senator Rob Garagiola; Senator Nancy King; Delegate Charles Barkley; Delegate Kathleen Dumais; Delegate Brian Feldman; Delegate Guy Guzzone; Delegate Sheila Hixson; Delegate Ben Kramer; Delegate Susan Lee; Delegate Kirill Reznik; Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith and Delegate Jon Cardin.

"Each year at this time, the members of the Tech Council of Maryland pause and collectively reflect upon the outstanding contributions made by Maryland's life science and technology companies," said Art Jacoby, CEO of the TCM. "The achievements and contributions of this year's award winners reflect the breadth, depth and quality of business that resides in our region and makes us one of the most innovative technology centers in the world."

The winners of the 2012 TCM Tech Awards are:

  • Tech Advocate of the Year - Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski: Sen. Mikulski was honored for her strong support of research, innovation, science and technology, as well as advocacy for Maryland's military facilities and federal agencies. More specifically, TCM recognized Sen. Mikulski for her support of the Medical Device User Fee Act and the Prescription Drug User Fee Act to ensure the safety and availability of new drugs, medical devices and treatments.

  • Executive of the Year - Fuad El-Hibri: As executive chairman of the board for Emergent BioSolutions, El-Hibri has made the company one of Maryland's most recognized leaders in the life science industry. El-Hibri was honored for his entrepreneurial spirit, outstanding leadership and careful stewardship, as Emergent has grown from four employees to more than 800, with revenues approaching $300 million. Emergent is the manufacturer of BioThrax, the only FDA-licensed anthrax vaccine, which is a key component of the U.S. government's biopreparedness strategy.

  • CFO of the Year - Jim Tholen: CFO of BroadSoft, Tholen has ensured the financial position of the Internet protocol (IP)-based communications services provider for the telecom industry, even through challenging economic times. Tholen plays a vital role in BroadSoft's executive team and his responsibilities extend into other areas, including corporate transactions, acquisitions, negotiating customer contracts and strategy.

  • STEM Educator of the Year - Dr. Suzanne Dashiell: A teacher at Urbana High School, Dr. Dashiell stands out for her ability to create a learning environment of mutual discussion, which inspires more students to learn and consider science careers. She has developed more than 20 inquiry-based labs to challenge students to design, perform and evaluate their own labs. Dr. Dashiell strives to make a relevant personal connection to her students by promoting learning of STEM subjects both in and out of the classroom.

  • Technology Firm of the Year - TurningPoint Global Solutions: A provider of software solutions for federal government and commercial customers, TurningPoint's innovative technologies are helping its clients save money, reduce costs and accelerate delivery times. TurningPoint Global Solutions was selected for being one of the region's fastest growing and most successful companies.

  • Emerging Company of the Year - Coherent Technical Services: Focused on providing engineering solutions and services to government and technology markets, Coherent Technical Services is experiencing strong growth: in 2011, revenue increased by 45 percent and staff grew by 70 percent. The company attributes this success to a diverse customer portfolio, the in-house expertise of its staff and strong leadership from its executive team.

  • Government Contracting Firm of the Year - Agilex: A provider of solutions for enterprise information technology problems for critical missions related to healthcare, homeland security, national defense, public safety and infrastructure, Agilex has drawn on its extensive experience to redefine a new model for government contracting that focuses on emerging and unmet requirements of federal agencies.

  • Life Sciences Firm of the Year - GlycoMimetics: A small molecule drug developer targeting unmet clinical needs with a focus on rare diseases, GlycoMimetrics's cutting-edge product, GMI-1070, is in clinical trials to treat patients with Sickle Cell Disease and has received Orphan Drug and Fast Track Status from the FDA.

  • Hall of Fame Award - MedImmune: The global biologics arm for AstraZeneca PLC headquartered in Gaithersburg, MedImmune best exemplifies excellence in Maryland's technology and life science industry. The Award recognizes a company that is a pillar in the community, not only through market success and job creation, but also by consistently giving back, getting involved and advancing the climate for innovation.

  • Chairman's Award - Rene LaVigne: Serving as president and CEO of Iron Bow Technologies, LaVigne was honored for his significant contributions to TCM's success. LaVigne has been a member of TCM's Board of Directors since 2002, and was a founding member and chair of the Prince George's Technology Council. Currently he also is a member of the Board of Directors of the Prince George's Community College Foundation and chairman of the board at Doctors Community Hospital, and former board member of the Prince George's Chamber of Commerce and Prince George's County Economic Development Corporation, as well as serving on several corporate boards and advisory groups.

The Tech Council of Maryland (TCM) is the largest technology trade group serving the advanced technology and biotechnology communities of Maryland. TCM's mission is to advocate for the interests of the technology community, further the role of technology in the Maryland economy, and nurture an environment where technology companies can collaborate, grow and succeed. For more information, visit

Contact Information

    Brad Wills
    Wills & Associates Public Relations
    (240) 752-7171
    Email Contact