SOURCE: Tech Council of Maryland

Tech Council of Maryland

April 13, 2012 15:26 ET

Tech Council of Maryland Names Finalists for 24th Annual TCM Tech Awards

Winners to Be Announced at Gala on April 26 in Bethesda

ROCKVILLE, MD--(Marketwire - Apr 13, 2012) - The Tech Council of Maryland (TCM), Maryland's largest technology and life science association, announced the finalists for its 24th annual TCM Tech Awards. Winners will be announced during the awards gala on April 26 at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center.

"The TCM Tech Awards celebration is one of the preeminent events in Maryland, where more than 900 leaders in the state's high tech and life sciences communities convene for networking, entertainment, and to honor the best-of-the-best in our industries," said Art Jacoby, TCM's CEO. "Maryland's Life Science and Technology companies are leading the way to a healthier world and a higher standard of living for all. We celebrate the collective success of our region and the special contributions of our finalists and award winners."

The finalists for the 2012 TCM Tech Awards are:

Executive of the Year

  • Tony Clifford, CEO, Standard Solar, Inc.
  • Fuad El-Hibri, Executive Chairman of the Board, Emergent BioSolutions
  • Mehdi Tehranchi, Chairman and CEO, Notable Solutions

CFO of the Year

  • Tom Bracket, CFO & COO, IQ Solutions
  • Fred Driscoll, VP, CFO, & Treasurer, Novavax, Inc.
  • Kevin Haggerty, CFO, DAI
  • Jim Tholen, CFO, BroadSoft, Inc.

Life Sciences Firm of the Year

  • GlycoMimetics
  • Lonza Walkersville, Inc.
  • Supernus Pharmaceuticals

High Tech Firm of the Year

  • BroadSoft, Inc.
  • Comcast
  • GlobalNet Services, Inc.
  • TurningPoint Global Solutions

Government Contracting Firm of the Year

  • Agilex
  • Digital Infuzion, Inc.
  • IQ Solutions

Emerging Firm of the Year

  • 2tor, Inc.
  • Coherent Technical Services, Inc.
  • OpGen, Inc.
  • Supernus Pharmaceuticals

STEM Educator of the Year

  • Suzanne Dashiell, Teacher, Urbana High School
  • Katherine Maddox, Science Teacher, Dulaney High School
  • Jocelyn Virtudes, Teacher, Independent School Local 1

Individuals or companies wishing to attend the TCM Tech Awards celebration can find more information and purchase tickets on the TCM website.

In addition to naming the winners in the six categories of the Tech Awards, TCM also will present MedImmune with the TCM Hall of Fame Award and the Advocate of the Year Award to Senator Barbara A. Mikulski.

The Tech Council of Maryland (TCM) is the largest technology trade group serving the advanced technology and biotechnology communities of Maryland. TCM's mission is to advocate for the interests of the technology community, further the role of technology in the Maryland economy, and nurture an environment where technology companies can collaborate, grow and succeed. For more information, visit

Contact Information

    Brad Wills
    Wills & Associates Public Relations
    (240) 752-7171
    Email Contact