SOURCE: TechAmerica Orange County

TechAmerica Orange County

April 30, 2012 14:15 ET

TechAmerica Names 2012 Orange County High-Tech Innovation Awards Finalists

Orange County Winners to Be Unveiled the Evening of June 14 at Annual Dinner

IRVINE, CA--(Marketwire - Apr 30, 2012) - TechAmerica today announced the finalists for the 19th Annual Orange County High-Tech Innovation Awards. This premier business event recognizes achievement and invention within the region's technology industry, and honors local companies, individuals and products that drive innovation in Orange County.

In partnership with Project Tomorrow and Emulex, TechAmerica also will highlight Orange County's most promising advancements in math and science education during a special awards segment. All winners will be named during the event, which will take place June 14, 2012, at the Hilton in Costa Mesa, Calif.

"The technology community in Orange County is responsible for producing breakthroughs that advance cloud computing, e-commerce, medical device, hardware, software and telecommunications solutions around the world," said Bob Brunson, director of TechAmerica in Orange County. "As a strong indicator that the local technology economy is flourishing, we received nearly 100 nominations, including many from companies new to the competition. We congratulate all of the finalists and look forward to celebrating their achievements at the awards dinner."

The finalists in all categories are listed below:

Outstanding CEO
Broadcom Corp. - Scott McGregor
Sonic Emotion - Rajeev Kapur
SRS Labs Inc. - Thomas C.K. Yuen

Outstanding Technology Finance Executive
Broadcom Corp. - Eric Brandt
Kofax - James Arnold, Jr.
Quality Systems Inc. - Paul A. Holt

Outstanding Technology Company
Microsemi Corp.
SRS Labs Inc.
Quality Systems Inc.

Harvey Mudd College Green Engineering Award
FlexEnergy Inc.
Green Box Electronic Recyclers Inc.

Innovative Product/Technology in 2011

AppSolutely - Vablet
Corent Technology - Multi-Tenant Server
Local Corp. - Rovion Ad Management Platform

D-Link - Wireless N Day/Night Home Network Camera (DCS-942L)
Emulex - Emulex Engine (XE)201 I/O Controller
Lantronix - xPrintServer
VIZIO - XWR200 Dual-Band Wireless HD Gigabit Router

Internet E-Commerce
HireRight - Applicant Center Mobile
Local Corp. - Exact Match
Treehouse Tykes

Medical Devices
BIOLASE Technology - All-tissue Waterlase iPlus™
Kerr Corp. - SonicFill
Nihon Kohden America Inc. - Prefense Early Detection and Notification System

Broadcom - Full Band Capture (FBC)
Conexant - CX93610 JPEG/MJPEG Encoder
Mindspeed Technologies - Transcede ® 2000-series System-on-Chip (SoC)

AdaptiveVoice - CDesk
Kofax - DotImage Enterprise
SRS Labs - Multi-Dimensional Audio (MDA)
SYSPRO - Quantum Architecture

Inducomm - FON
Smith Micro Software - Mobile Network Director (MND)
TextPower Inc. - TextKey

Project Tomorrow Innovation in Education Finalists

Emerging Student Innovator
Kayane Dingilian, 12th grade, Woodbridge High School, Irvine Unified School District
Project Name: Society of Women Engineers

Nathan Yoo, 11th grade, Brea Olinda High School, Brea Olinda Unified School District
Project Name: Engineering around the World

Thomas Reid Hoyt, 12th grade, San Clemente High School, Capistrano Unified School District
Project Name: Plastic Free SC Campaign

High Impact Teacher in Science, Math and Technology
Paola Dell'Olio Hellwig, Travis Ranch TV - Video Production/Broadcast News Teacher
Travis Ranch Middle School, Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District
Project: TRTV (Travis Ranch TV)

Trisha Ladd, K-6 Computer Instructional Specialist
Sierra Vista Elementary School, Irvine Unified School District
Project: Computer Club

James Wenk, 7th/8th Grade Pre-Algebra & Algebra Math Teacher
Newhart Middle School, Capistrano Unified School District
Project: Creation of Powerpoint Lessons for the Math Classroom

Innovation School Program in Science, Math and Technology
Armando Ayala, Principal
Willard Intermediate School, Santa Ana Unified School District
Project Name: Exercise Science Program

Ed MacNevin, Principal
Foothill Ranch Elementary School, Saddleback Valley Unified School District
Program Name: Bring Your Own Device Program

Lucinda Nares-Pueblos, Principal
Century High School, Santa Ana Unified School District
Program Name: Engineering/STEAM Program

Tickets Now Available
Tickets to the 19th Annual High-Tech Innovation Awards now are available. Individual tickets are $175. Tables of 10 can be purchased for $1,500 ($1,300 for finalists). TechAmerica is taking registrations online. For questions regarding registration, contact Yalanda Oglesby at 949-502-0051 or

Event Sponsors
The program is underwritten and produced by financial and in-kind sponsors. These include Platinum sponsors Deloitte, Silicon Valley Bank and Stradling. UPS is the Gold sponsor. Silver sponsors include Emulex, which will present the Project Tomorrow Innovation in Education Awards, and Mavenlink, which will present The Harvey Mudd College Green Engineering Award. Haynes and Boone LLP is the Wine sponsor. Binary Pulse Technology Marketing is the public relations and marketing sponsor. Sponsorship opportunities still are available, and interested companies and organizations can contact Bob Brunson at 949-502-0053 or

For more information about the High-Tech Innovation Awards, visit

About TechAmerica

TechAmerica is the leading voice for the U.S. technology industry -- the driving force behind productivity growth and jobs creation in the United States and the foundation of the global innovation economy. Representing approximately 1,000 member companies of all sizes from the public and commercial sectors of the economy, it is the industry's largest advocacy organization and is dedicated to helping members' top and bottom lines. TechAmerica is also the technology industry's only grassroots-to-global advocacy network, with offices in state capitals around the United States, Washington, D.C., Europe (Brussels) and Asia (Beijing). Learn more about TechAmerica at

Contact Information

  • Media Contacts:
    For TechAmerica
    Stephanie Craig
    Email Contact

    For 19thAnnual Orange County High-Tech Innovation Awards
    Cara Stewart
    Binary Pulse Technology Marketing
    Email Contact