SOURCE: e.Republic


July 12, 2012 12:00 ET

Texas Technology Leaders and Innovators Honored in Austin

Jerry Patterson Receives 2012 Bob Bullock Award

SACRAMENTO, CA--(Marketwire - Jul 12, 2012) - e.Republic's Center for Digital Government and Government Technology Conference Southwest honored public leaders and agencies for their tireless work in information technology (IT) at the 2012 Bob Bullock Award and Best of Texas awards ceremony held in Austin, Texas.

The Bob Bullock Award for Outstanding Public Stewardship is presented annually to a Texas state executive or elected official for outstanding leadership, innovation and a career that exemplifies dedication to serving Texas citizens. 

Mr. Jerry Patterson received the 2012 award at a banquet held in his honor on July 11. Serving since 2003 and re-elected to his third term in 2010, Patterson was honored for his long-time public service as Commissioner of the Texas General Land Office; prior service in the Texas State Senate from 1993-99; tireless advocacy for veterans' causes; promotion of Texas history education; and championing individual freedom and Constitutional rights.

The Best of Texas awards program recognizes public sector professionals and local government organizations for their dedication and contributions to IT in Texas. Winners are selected based on a number of criteria, including collaboration among agencies, innovative use of technology, economic benefits and bettering services and business processes.

"This year's Best of Texas is a testament to the innovation of public servants dedicated to improving government interactions with citizens," said Todd Sander, executive director of the Center for Digital Government. "It is a pleasure to showcase the contributions and innovative work of the award recipients who've demonstrated an unfailing commitment toward engaging citizens, improving communities and solidifying the future well-being of the great state of Texas. Congratulations!"


Demonstrated Leadership in Management of Information Technology
Leatha Mullins, Chief Technology Officer
Dallas County Schools

Demonstrated Excellence in Project Management
Nanette Monte, IT Project Consultant
City of Fort Worth

Best Application Serving the Public

  • Texas Adoption Resource Exchange (TARE) Redesign Project, Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
  • Texas Permitting and Routing Optimization System (TxPROS), Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Best Application Serving an Agency's Business Needs

  • Benefits Pension Administration System (BPAS) Project, Texas Employee Retirement System
  • City of Austin's Flood Early Warning System

The Green IT Award

  • Communications Technology Management Green IT Program, City of Austin
  • Efficiency by Design, Lone Star College System

Best IT Collaboration Among Organizations

  • Foundation School Program - Bond Programs, Texas Education Agency
  • IT Support of Child Abduction Response Team, City of Bryan

Best In-House Developed Application

  • Bexar County Online Parks Reservation System

Best Mobile/Wireless Project

  • Harris County Mobile Service Request

Most Innovative Use of Social Media

  • "Tweet-Along" - Virtual Ride-Along on Twitter, City of Arlington Police

Special Award for Government Transparency and Citizen Engagement

  • Senate Committee App, Texas Senate Committee on Business and Commerce

Additionally, 11 Outstanding IT Service and Support Awards were presented to those dedicated to Texas Public Service. For these awardees, visit

The Center for Digital Government is a national research and advisory institute on information technology policies and best practices in state and local government. See 

The Center for Digital Government is a division of e.Republic, a national publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation. See