SOURCE: American Diabetes Association

American Diabetes Association

January 07, 2013 11:05 ET

The American Diabetes Association Announces 2013 Board of Directors

ALEXANDRIA, VA--(Marketwire - Jan 7, 2013) - The American Diabetes Association, the nation's largest and leading voluntary health organization leading the fight to Stop Diabetes®, is pleased to announce its officers and Board of Directors members for 2013. 

Chair of the Board
Karen Talmadge, PhD
Nabu Health Care Consulting
Los Altos Hills, CA

President, Health Care & Education
Lurelean B. Gaines, RN, MSN 
Department of Nursing
East Los Angeles College
Monterey Park, CA

President, Medicine & Science
John E. Anderson, MD 
The Frist Clinic
Nashville, TN

Patrick L. Shuler, CPA
Senior Partner
Dixon Hughes Goodman, LLP
Virginia Beach, VA

Chief Executive Officer
Larry Hausner   
Chief Executive Officer
American Diabetes Association
Alexandria, VA

Samuel Arce, MD, FAAFP 
Family Practitioner
Vice Chairman, National Hispanic Medical Association
Jamaica, NY 

Brian Bertha
Chief Business Officer
Crescendo Bioscience
San Francisco, CA

Michael Julian Bond
Atlanta City Councilmember
Atlanta, GA

Vanessa Jones Briscoe, PhD, NP, CDE
Research Assistant Professor
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN 

Michael Ching, CPA
Ernst & Young, LLP
Honolulu, HI

Kieth Cockrell
National Community Executive and Michigan Market President
Bank of America Corporate Office
Troy, MI

Pearson C. Cummin III, MBA
(Immediate Past Secretary/Treasurer)
Managing Member 
Grey Fox Associates, LLC 
Greenwich, CT 

Marjorie Cypress, PhD, RN, CNP, CDE
(President-Elect, Health Care & Education)
Nurse Practitioner, Endocrinology
Albuquerque, NM

Samuel Dagogo-Jack, MD, FRCP
(Vice President, Medicine & Science)
Professor of Medicine & Director
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
A.C. Mullins Chair in Translational Research
University of Tennessee Health Science Center 
Memphis, TN 

Jay Dunigan
Diabetes Strategies, LLC
Londonderry, NH

Richard Farber, MBA
(Vice Secretary/Treasurer) 
Kayne Anderson Capital Advisors
Pacific Palisades, CA

Vivian Fonseca, MD
(Immediate Past President, Medicine & Science)
Professor of Medicine & Pharmacology 
Tullis-Tulane Alumni Chair in Diabetes
Chief, Section of Endocrinology & Metabolism
Tulane University Medical Center 
New Orleans, LA 

Gina Gavlak, RN, BSN
Diabetes Program Development Coordinator
Lakewood Hospital, Diabetes and Endocrine Center
Sheffield Village, OH

Aida L. Giachello, PhD
Northwestern University,
Department of Preventive Medicine
Chicago, IL

Dwight Holing
(Chair of the Board-Elect)
DHA Communications
Orinda, CA

George L. King, MD
Senior Vice President, Chief Scientific Officer
Head of the Section on Vascular Cell Biology
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Joslin Diabetes Center/Harvard Medical School
Dover, MA

Daniel B. Kohrman, JD, MPA
Senior Attorney
AARP Foundation
Washington, DC 

Mary T. Korytkowski, RN, MN, MD
Professor of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Lorrie Welker Liang
Vice President
Sinai Hospital of Baltimore
Baltimore, MD

L. Hunter Limbaugh
(Immediate Past Chair of the Board) 
Southeastern Counsel
Wine Institute 
Columbia, SC

David G. Marrero, PhD
(Vice President, Health Care & Education)
J. O. Ritchey Endowed Professor of Medicine
Director, Diabetes Translational Research Center
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN

Anne Peters, MD, FACP, CDE
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA

Vincent Poitout, DVM, PhD
Professor, Department of Medicine
University of Montreal
Montreal, QC, Canada

Margaret A. Powers, PhD, RD, CDE
Research Scientist
International Diabetes Center
Minneapolis, MN

Henry Rodriguez, MD
Professor of Pediatrics
University of Florida Diabetes College of Medicine
Clinical Director
USF Diabetes Center
Tampa, FL

Elizabeth R. Seaquist, MD
(President-Elect, Medicine & Science)
Pennock Family Chair in Diabetes Research
Professor of Medicine
Director, Center for Diabetes Research
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Robert J. Singley, MBA
Diabetes Marketing Consultant
Rockaway, NJ

Geralyn R. Spollett, MSN, ANP-CS, CDE 
(Immediate Past President, Health Care & Education)
Associate Director
Yale Diabetes Center 
Adult Nurse Practitioner, Endocrine
Yale University
New Haven, CT 

Darryl Tonemah, PhD, MEd, BS
Health and Wellness Consultant
Lewiston, NY

Guillermo Umpierrez, MD
Professor of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism
Emory University School of Medicine
Section Chief, Diabetes and Endocrinology Section
Grady Health Care System
Atlanta, GA

Patti Urbanski, MEd, RD, LD, CDE
Diabetes Program Coordinator
Nutrition & Diabetes Specialist
Duluth Family Medicine Residency Program
Cloquet, MN

Umesh K. Verma
Chief Executive Officer
Houston, TX

Roniece Weaver, MS, RD, LD
Roniece Weaver and Associates, Inc.
Windermere, FL

Janel L. Wright, JD
(Vice Chair of the Board)
Chief of Adjudications
State of Alaska, Department of Labor & Workforce Development
Anchorage, AK

The American Diabetes Association is leading the fight to Stop Diabetes and its deadly consequences and fighting for those affected by diabetes. The Association funds research to prevent, cure and manage diabetes; delivers services to hundreds of communities; provides objective and credible information; and gives voice to those denied their rights because of diabetes. Founded in 1940, our mission is to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes. For more information please call the American Diabetes Association at 1-800-DIABETES (1-800-342-2383) or visit Information from both these sources is available in English and Spanish.

Contact Information


Keyword Cloud

View Website