CANADA POST

CANADA POST
Canada's Top 100 Employers - 2009

Canada's Top 100 Employers - 2009

November 12, 2008 13:00 ET

The Elves at Canada Post are Ready to Deliver to Santa!

Post office invites young Canadians to send letters, emails to the North Pole

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 12, 2008) - No one loves writing letters to Santa Claus more than Canadian boys and girls, and Canada Post is inviting kids across the country to put pen to paper again this year!

Canada Post announced today that its Santa Claus North Pole post office is open for business. "We are encouraging every young person across Canada again this year to take the time to craft their personal and heartfelt message to Santa in a letter or email," said Robert Waite, SVP, Corporate Social Responsibility. "Our program creates tremendous goodwill at this time of year and fosters improved literacy among children, each of whom will receive a reply from one of our on-duty postal elves. It's clear through Santa's increasing mail volume, that children love to write to Santa, and receive a personal response from the North Pole. It's a special time of year for them and we are thrilled, and very proud, to be part of it."

Santa's North Pole Post Office has answered more than 16 million letters since Canada Post's national annual letter-writing program was established in 1982. More than 11,000 current or retired Canada Post employees (known affectionately as postal elves) will volunteer their time to help Santa respond to truckloads of letters in the language in which they are received - 26 languages last year, including Braille.

Last year, Canada Post elves replied to more than 1.2 million letters and 45,000 emails! The 2006 program was awarded the Guinness World Record for most letters delivered to Santa during a holiday season (stay tuned for news of a repeat award!).

The post office has tightened security procedures to ensure a smooth 2008 holiday season. Every envelope from Santa will have an identification number. This increased tracking capability, combined with a reminder to Santa's special postal elves of the importance of keeping Santa's mail under close supervision, is designed to keep Santa's mail secure.

Children are reminded to include their complete return address when they send their letters to Santa at his North Pole workshop at:



SANTA CLAUS
NORTH POLE
H0H 0H0
CANADA


Santa also receives email through a special website at www.canadapost.ca/santascorner. This year, for the first time, Canada Post is partnering with NORAD to ensure Santa receives his emails - and children their reply from Santa - from around the world in a timely fashion! NORAD has been tracking Santa for 50 years, and their live reports of Santa's travels are a treasured Christmas Eve tradition! Children and parents can now visit www.canadapost.ca/santascorner and www.noradsanta.org (starting December 1) to discover fun holiday games and activities, and to download special messages from Santa!

Media requiring further information or who wish to arrange an interview with a postal elf, please contact:



Vancouver: Lillian Au
604 662-1388
Lillian.au@canadapost.ca

Calgary: Sandra Sobko
403 974-2191
Sandra.sobko@canadapost.ca

Edmonton: Teresa Williams
780 944-3137
Teresa.williams@canadapost.ca

Regina & Malcolm French
Northwest 306 761-6306
Territories: Malcolm.french@canadapost.ca

Winnipeg & Kathryn Neal
Northwest 204 987-5763
Territories: Kathryn.neal@canadapost.ca

London: Tom Creech
519 457-5282
Tom.creech@canadapost.ca

Toronto: Albert Lee
905 214-9299
Albert.lee@canadapost.ca

Ottawa: Martine Lepine
613 734-2811
Martine.lepine@canadapost.ca

Montreal: Christiane Ouimet
514 345-4333
Christiane.ouimet@canadapost.ca

Quebec: Helene Barnard
418 694-3161
Helene.barnard@canadapost.ca

Halifax: Genevieve Latour
902 494-4074
Genevieve.latour@canadapost.ca


Contact Information

  • Canada Post
    Media Relations
    613-734-8888