SOURCE: Warner Bros. Records

April 12, 2007 16:17 ET

The Flaming Lips to Release First-Ever Live DVD on July 10

"U.F.O.s at the Zoo: The Legendary Concert in Oklahoma City" Captures Manic Energy of Band's First Hometown Show in Years

BURBANK, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- April 12, 2007 -- Grammy Award-winning "Gonzo wig-lifters," THE FLAMING LIPS will release their first-ever live DVD, titled "U.F.O.s AT THE ZOO: THE LEGENDARY CONCERT IN OKLAHOMA CITY," on July 10th, 2007. Filmed at the Zoo Amphitheater in the band's hometown of Oklahoma City on September 15th, 2006, the DVD captures the complete over-the-top Technicolor thrill of band's first local show in several years to an absolutely manic capacity crowd of furry fanatics.

For as long as the Lips have been touring, fans have demanded live concert footage. Check YouTube for further proof! Finally, the wait is over and well worth it. Fans will be floored by this blazing panoply of sonic and visual sensory-overload that is The Flaming Lips live experience. For those who have never seen the Lips live, imagine a rock & roll happening hosted by the freshly-dosed minds of Lewis Carroll, P.T. Barnham and Timothy Leary spiking the collective punch-bowl at the world's biggest birthday party. There could only be one house band and the result might be something like the show you'll see on this DVD. The track listing includes Lips favorites such as, "Race For The Prize," "Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots" (Parts 1 and 2), "Do You Realize??," and a rarely performed version of "Love Yer Brain," from 1987's "OH MY GAWD!!!... THE FLAMING LIPS," their 2nd studio album. Live tracks will be interspersed with backstage sneak peeks and various absurd events of the day preparing for the big homecoming spectacle.

"U.F.O.s AT THE ZOO: THE LEGENDARY CONCERT IN OKLAHOMA CITY" will be released as a single disc on the new MVI format (Music Video Interactive, formerly known as the DVD album format), so it will be packaged in a slightly larger-sized jewel case and enclosed booklet. The disc will include the entire Oklahoma City concert, MP3s of the audio, digital artwork, a ringtone application, which will allow fans to make and buy their own Lips ringtones. The URT one application will enable fans to select portions of Lips studio recordings (but not live versions) for a more personal choice of available ringtone options. Thirteen different tracks in all will be available for selection.

The ROM zone portion of the disc will contain a PDF of the art booklet, Buddy icons, photos and various digital extras that will make this the ultimate special package for fans of The Flaming Lips.

The Flaming Lips, who recently took home two more Grammy Awards for their current album "AT WAR WITH THE MYSTICS," are on the road this month making select U.S. appearances. A full-scale American tour is planned for this summer. Details to be announced shortly. For more news on the band, check out their website

The full track and segment listing for "U.F.O.s AT THE ZOO: THE LEGENDARY CONCERT IN OKLAHOMA CITY" is as follows:

1.  "The Freaks Get Restless and Wake the Animals"
2.  "The Mothership Descends"
3.  "Race For the Prize"
4.  "Free Radicals"
5.  "Expecting Everyone's Head to Explode"
6.  "Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots"
7.  "Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots, Part 2"
8.  "Should We Free the Animals?"
9.  "Vein of Stars"
10. "Hot Dog Eating Contest"
11. "The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song"
12. "The Spark That Bled"
13. "Preparing the U.F.O. Mothership"
14. "The W.A.N.D."
15. "My Cosmic Autumn Rebellion"
16. "Santas and Aliens"
17. "She Don't Use Jelly"
18. "Do You Realize??"
19. "How Much Red Duct Tape?"
20. "A Spoonful Weighs A Ton"
21. "Captain America Splits the Audience"
22. "Love Yer Brain"
23. "The Mothership Departs"
24. "The Greatest Audience in the Galaxy"

A mindblowing trailer for "U.F.O.s AT THE ZOO" has just launched a way to post on your website:

As a weblink:

For tour dates, merchandise and general info visit:

Contact Information

  • For interview requests and further information, contact:
    Rick Gershon
    at Warner Bros. Records Publicity: