Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

March 19, 2008 20:00 ET

The Government of Canada Congratulates Participants at 35th Canadian Sport Awards

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - March 19, 2008) - The Canadian sport community and the Government of Canada celebrated and honoured the nation's true sport champions today at the 35th Canadian Sport Awards.

James Bezan, Member of Parliament (Selkirk-Interlake), presented the awards for male and female athlete of the year at the awards ceremony in Winnipeg, on behalf of the Honourable Helena Guergis, Secretary of State (Foreign Affairs and International Trade) (Sport).

"The Government of Canada is committed to promoting and encouraging sport and physical activity among all Canadians," said Secretary of State Guergis. "I congratulate everyone who helps make Canada a leading sport nation."

"I'm pleased to be here today on behalf of the Government of Canada to congratulate Canadian athletes, coaches, volunteers, and leaders participating in the 35th Canadian Sport Awards," said Mr. Bezan. "Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for Canada and are role models for Canadian youth."

The 35th Canadian Sport Awards are jointly organized by the True Sport Foundation and Sport Manitoba. This annual awards event pays tribute to the true champions of Canadian sport: the athletes, coaches, volunteers, and community leaders whose hard work and dedication support the Canadian sport system.

The Government of Canada is the single largest contributor to sport in Canada. The Government of Canada's investment in the Canadian sport system will grow to an all-time high of more than $164 million annually, once the commitment to sport excellence, in Budget 2008, is fully implemented. Those funds include investments in those sports and athletes with demonstrated potential for podium results at Olympic and Paralympic Games.

This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Honourable Helena Guergis, PC, MP
    Secretary of State (Foreign Affairs and
    International Trade) (Sport)
    Blair MacLean, Director of Communications and
    Parliamentary Affairs
    Canadian Heritage
    Donald Boulanger
    A/Chief, Media Relations