Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

May 05, 2009 11:22 ET

The Governor General Celebrates the Performing Arts at Rideau Hall

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 5, 2009) - Their Excellencies the Right Honourable Michaelle Jean, Governor General of Canada, and Mr. Jean-Daniel Lafond will honour the recipients of this year's Governor General's Performing Arts Awards during a ceremony at Rideau Hall on Friday, May 8, 2009, at 6 p.m.

The Governor General's Performing Arts Awards Ceremony

Created in 1992, the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards are the most prominent artistic honour bestowed upon Canadians in the performing arts. They are administered by the GGPAA Foundation, a private, not-for-profit charitable organization. Nominations for the awards are solicited from the public and the performing arts community. Each year, Governor General's Performing Arts Awards are presented for Lifetime Artistic Achievement in the categories of theatre, dance, classical music, popular music, film and radio and television broadcasting.

2009 Governor General's Performing Arts Award Recipients

- Peggy Baker

- Edith Butler

- Clemence DesRochers

- Robert Lepage (Please note that Mr. Lepage received his award at Rideau Hall on April 2, 2009 and will not be present on May 8, 2009.)

- R. Murray Schafer

- George F. Walker

Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts

- James D. Fleck

National Arts Centre Award

- Paul Gross

The following evening, Their Excellencies will also attend the Gala Performance at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, where outstanding performers will pay tribute to the recipients.

For more information on the Performing Arts Awards recipients for 2009 and on tickets for the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards Gala at the National Arts Centre, please visit

Media interested in covering the award presentation on Friday evening are asked to arrive at the Princess Anne Entrance before 5:45 p.m.

Contact Information