November 20, 2006 15:32 ET

The Montreal Alouettes: Cahoon, Flory and Watkins Headline Wave of New Signings

A Total of 22 Players Sign New Deals Before Deadline

MONTREAL, QUEBEC--(CCNMatthews - Nov. 20, 2006) - With the new salary management system coming into effect this morning at midnight, Montreal Alouettes' Vice-President, General Manager and Head Coach Jim Popp announced that 22 players have signed new contracts with the organization, including receivers Ben Cahoon, Kerry Watkins and guard Scott Flory.

Ten of those 22 players would have become free agents after the 2006 season. Cahoon, linebacker Kai Ellis, fullback Mike Vilimek, rush end John Bowman, long snappers Chris Vrantsis and Scott Mennie, receiver Chris Davis, defensive backs Joel Wright and Janssen Patton and offensive lineman Skip Seagraves all signed new contracts.

A dozen more players extended their current deals for the year to come: Watkins, Flory, kicker/punter Damon Duval, guards Paul Lambert and Paul Archer, tackle Luke Fritz, receivers Dave Stala, Shaun Diner and O'Neil Wilson, defensive end D.D. Acholonu, linebacker Louis Mackey and defensive back Thomas Whitfield.

Only four players could become free agents on Feb. 16, 2007: linebacker Patrick Dorvelus, return specialist Ezra Landry, tackle Uzooma Okeke and defensive tackle Adriano Belli.

Players will be available for the media in the locker room of Olympic Stadium tomorrow after the noon team meeting around 12:15 p.m.

Contact Information

  • The Montreal Alouettes
    Louis-Philippe Dorais
    Director of Media Relations
    The Montreal Alouettes
    Francis Dupont
    Assistant to the Director of Media Relations