Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park

Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park

March 04, 2005 20:00 ET

The Musee du Fjord Receives the 2005 Rosaire Corbin Award



MARCH 4, 2005 - 20:00 ET

The Musee du Fjord Receives the 2005 Rosaire Corbin

ROBERVAL, QUEBEC--(CCNMatthews - March 4, 2005) - As part of the Grands
Prix du Tourisme du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean gala, the Coordinating
Committee of the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park presented the Rosaire
Corbin Award to the Musee du Fjord for its contribution to the natural
and cultural heritage presentation of the Saguenay Fjord. The ceremony
took place today at the Le Chateau Roberval Hotel.

Located on the shores of the Saguenay Fjord in the La Baie district, the
Musee du Fjord is devoted to the preservation and presentation of the
historic, natural and artistic heritage of the fjord and the Ha! Ha! Bay
territory. Victim of the 1996 flood, the museum embarked on an
ambitious restructuring project-in addition to presenting the shared
history of the communities in this marine environment, the museum would
offer a science area where visitors could discover marine flora, fauna
and habitats and the geology of the Saguenay Fjord. Today, through these
activities, the museum provides visitors with a scientific perspective
of the environment and fosters a sense of responsibility for protecting
it. In so doing they adhere to the spirit and the values of Father
Corbin and the mandate of the
Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park.

The Rosaire Corbin Award is presented to an organization or person whose
achievements have fostered a better appreciation of the cultural and
natural endowments of the estuary and the fjord, and who are engaged as
well in the mission to preserve and protect the marine park. The award
is given jointly by the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park and the four
regional tourist associations situated within the park's coordination
area: Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, Bas-Saint-Laurent, Manicouagan and

Headed by Mr. Jules Dufour, professor and researcher at the Universite
du Quebec a Chicoutimi, the Coordinating Committee of the Saguenay-St.
Lawrence Marine Park is composed of representatives from the regions
bordering the park, Aboriginal communities and the provincial and
federal governments responsible for administrating the national marine
conservation area.

The award was created in memory of Father Rosaire Corbin, a naturalist
and biologist who dedicated his life to educating youth and promoting
natural science. First president of the Coordinating Committee, he
played a vital role in the creation of the marine park.


Contact Information

    Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park
    Lise Lacasse
    Coordinator of the Rosaire Corbin Award
    (418) 235-4703, ext. 254
    Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park
    Jules Dufour, President
    Coordinating Committee for the Saguenay-St. Lawrence
    Marine Park
    (418) 545-5011