National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

March 18, 2005 12:10 ET


THE NATIONAL ABORIGINAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS (NAAA) COMING TO SASKATOON! Attention: Arts/Entertainment Editor, Assignment Editor, Lifestyle Editor, Media Editor, News Editor TORONTO--(CCNMatthews - March 18, 2005) - Canada's premier Aboriginal event, the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, is coming to Saskatoon. This dazzling show of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation has for 12 years inspired and empowered First Nation, Metis, and Inuit youth through the celebration and recognition of powerful role models.

Co-Hosts, Andrea Menard and Michael Greyeyes, promise a night to remember, as fourteen exceptional Aboriginal men and women, including one youth recipient and one lifetime achiever, will be honoured as part of a entertainment extravaganza. Featuring top Aboriginal performers, such as Kinnie Star, Burnt Project - 1, Eagle and Hawk, the Great Plains Dance troupe and Santee Smith. The NAAA takes place on Thursday, March 31st, at 8 p.m. at the Saskatoon Centennial Auditorium and Convention Center.

The 2005 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards show was conceived and produced by Métis Executive Producer/Writer Roman Bittman. The event will be broadcast on CBC, and on the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network. Broadcast dates will be forthcoming shortly.

The 10,000 year-old culture and stories of the Great Plains nations are inspiration for this year's production. One of the traditional legends of the Great Plains describes the all powerful Thunderbird that hovers over Turtle Island and protects its peoples. The fantastic set, inspired by the Thunderbird promises to be a truly memorable evening as it is said that any person glimpsing even a part of the Thunderbird will become forever transformed.

Media accreditation forms for the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards in Saskatoon are available on request. There are a limited number of seats for the press to watch the live event, but opportunities for interviews and/or to attend the dress rehearsal can also be arranged.Background materials and schedule of events available upon request. Downloads available for the press can be found at after 3:00 p.m. in the Awards Section.

Private sector support of the awards is led by CIBC. Other major private sector support is provided by: Air Canada; the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network; BP Canada Energy Company; the Canadian Medical Association; Diavik Diamond Mines Inc.; Donna Cona Inc.; EnCana; First Air; Missinipi Broadcasting Corportation; Nexen Inc.; SIGA; Starchoice; Suncor Energy Foundation; Syncrude Canada Limited; TransCanada Corporation; and Weyerhaeuser Company Limited.

Public sector support is led by Indian and Northern Affairs and the CBC with support from Canadian Heritage, Health Canada, the Government of Canada, Industry Canada, and Department of Human Resources and Skills Development. Additional support comes from: Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation; Canadian Museum of Civilization; City of Saskatoon; Department of Justice Canada; Department of National Defence; Government of the Northwest Territories; Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada; Ontario Native Affairs Secretariat; Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada; Privy Council Office; Province of Saskatchewan; Government of Nunavut, SaskTel, Government of Yukon and Western Economic Diversification Canada.

The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards were created in 1994 to celebrate and promote positive role models to Aboriginal youth. The awards are part of the work of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation, a non-profit organization that encourages and empowers young Aboriginal people in order to advance their educational and career opportunities. Since 1988, the Foundation has provided more than $16 million to deserving Aboriginal students across the country, with scholarship disbursements reaching more than $2 million each year.
/For further information: Scott Cavan, Dir. Media Relations, NAAF - 416.926.0775; 416.885.9872 cell or Chris Allicock, Publicity, NAAF - 416.319.8003 / IN: EDUCATION, ENTERTAINMENT, MEDIA, POLITICS, SOCIAL

Contact Information

  • Scott Cavan, Director of Media Relations, National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
    Primary Phone: 416-926-0775 ext. 244
    Secondary Phone: 416-885-9872
    Toll-Free: 800-329-9780