SOURCE: National Academy of Public Administration

National Academy of Public Administration

November 23, 2010 11:59 ET

The National Academy of Public Administration Inducts 29 New Fellows

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwire - November 23, 2010) - The National Academy of Public Administration (NAPA) announced today the induction of 29 leaders in public administration as Fellows during the NAPA Annual Meeting November 18-19, 2010, in Washington D.C. The 2010 Class of NAPA Fellows counts among its members U.S. Senator George Voinovich (R-OH).

"The Academy is honored to induct the illustrious Fellows who comprise the incoming class of 2010," noted Jennifer Dorn, president of NAPA. "In particular, we are proud to welcome to our ranks Senator Voinovich, who has dedicated his life to ensuring that government at the local, state and federal levels works well and for all. He is a statesman, a leader and an innovator -- qualities that will make him an outstanding Academy Fellow."

The National Academy of Public Administration was created to help public sector leaders meet the important and varied management challenges of today and anticipate those of the future. Chartered by Congress as an independent, non-partisan organization, NAPA undertakes its important work on behalf of the public sector by anticipating, evaluating, analyzing and making recommendations on the nation's most critical and complex public management, governance, policy and operational challenges. Through the trusted and experienced leaders that comprise its more than 650 Fellows and direct its projects and services, NAPA improves the quality, performance and accountability of government.

Criteria for membership include substantial scholarly contribution and/or experience in public administration and public affairs, demonstrated concern for the advancement of public administration, adherence to the highest ethical standards, and the willingness and ability to contribute to the work of the Academy. To view the biographies of all National Academy Fellows please click here.

2010 National Academy of Public Administration Fellows:

Dan E. Arvizu, Director, National Renewable Energy Laboratory and Executive Vice President, Midwest Research Institute
John Bartle, Director, School of Public Administration, University of Nebraska at Omaha
Derick W. Brinkerhoff, Distinguished Fellow in International Public Management, RTI International
Chung-Kil Chung, Chief of Staff to the President, Republic of Korea
R. Leon Churchill Jr., City Manager of Tracy, Calif.
Terry L. Cooper, Maria B. Crutcher Professor of Citizenship and Democratic Values, University of Southern California
Edward J. Demarco, (Acting) Director, Federal Housing Finance Agency
Melvin J. Dubnick, Professor, Political Science, University of New Hampshire and Professor Emeritus, Rutgers University-Newark
William Duncombe, Professor, the Maxwell School of Syracuse University
John L. Flateau, New York State Senate, Deputy Secretary for Intergovernmental Relations
Benjamin Ginsberg, Johns Hopkins, Founding Director, Washington Center for the Study of American Government
Carolyn J. Heinrich, Professor and Director, La Follette School of Public Affairs
Christopher Hood, Gladstone Professor of Government and Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford University
Robert J. Lamb, Executive Director, Friends of the National Zoo
Ronald O. Loveridge, Mayor, City of Riverside, Calif.
Maya MacGuineas, President, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget and Director, Fiscal Policy Program, New America Foundation
David A. Mader, Senior Vice President, Strategy and Organization, Booz Allen Hamilton
Eric Patashnik, Professor of Politics and Public Policy and Associate Dean, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy, University of Virginia
Rudolph G. Penner, Senior Fellow, Arjay and Frances Miller Chair in Public Policy, Urban Institute
Myra Howze Shiplett, Distinguished Fellow, Project on National Security Reform and President, RandolphMorgan Consulting, LLC
Thomas J. Shoop, Vice President and Editor In Chief, Government Executive Magazine, Atlantic Media Company
Carmen J. Sirianni, Morris Hillquit Professor of Labor and Social Thought and Professor of Sociology and Public Policy, Brandeis University and Visiting Professor, Ash Institute for Democratic Governance and Innovation at Harvard University
Jeffrey C. Steinhoff, Executive Director, KPMG Government Institute and Managing Director, KPMG LLP
Michael C. Van Milligen, City Manager, Dubuque, Iowa
David M. Van Slyke, Associate Professor, Department Of Public Administration, Maxwell School Of Citizenship And Public Affairs, Syracuse University
George Voinovich, Senator, United States Senate
Judith A. Youngman, Professor of Political Science, U.S. Coast Guard Academy

About The National Academy of Public Administration
The National Academy of Public Administration is a nonprofit, independent organization of top public management and organizational leaders who tackle the nation's most complex challenges. With a network of more than 650 distinguished Fellows and experienced professional staff, the National Academy is trusted across government to provide objective advice and practical solutions based on systematic research and expert analysis. Please visit to learn more.

Contact Information

  • For more information or to speak with a NAPA representative, please contact:
    Derek M. LaVallee