SOURCE: Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

September 12, 2007 15:48 ET

The O'Brien Expands Selection Committee

FORT WORTH, TX--(Marketwire - September 12, 2007) - The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) proudly announces the addition of 32 new members to its Selection Committee, bringing the total number of its members to 95. Selection Committee members are chosen based on their experience and contributions to college football, and represent each region of the U.S.

New members will join this elite group of journalists, broadcasters and previous O'Brien Award winners. The addition of new members reinforces the desire of The O'Brien to have a Selection Committee representative of the various regions of college football.

"Ensuring that voting is based on our guidelines is an important role of our Selection Committee," executive director Danielle Moorman said. "But even more important is having a Selection Committee that represents, fairly, the broad landscape of college football."

Members of the 2007 O'Brien National Selection Committee Include:

Erin Andrews*, ESPN
Jack Arute*, ESPN
Wendell Barnhouse, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Bonnie Bernstein*, ESPN
Don Borst, Lindy's Football Annuals
Terry Bowden, Westwood One Radio
Olin Buchanan*,
Jimmy Burch, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Jordan Burchette, Maxim Online
Bobby Burton*,
David Campbell*, Cleveland Plain Dealer
Richard Cirminiello,
Ron Cook*, Pittsburgh Post Gazette
Lee Corso, ESPN
Glen Crevier*, Minneapolis Star Tribune
Brian Curtis, College Sports Television (CSTV)
Gary Danielson*, CBS
Brian Davis, The Dallas Morning News
Tom Dienhart, The Sporting News
Dennis Dodd, CBS SportsLine
Jim Donnan*, ESPN
Mark Faller*, ArizonaRepublic
Bruce Feldman, ESPN The Magazine
Pete Fiutak, College Football News
Pat Forde,
Dan Fouts*, ESPN
Ron Franklin, ESPN
Ken Goe*, Portland Oregonian
Teddy Greenstein, Chicago Tribune
Vahe Gregorian, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Bob Griese, ABC Sports
Tim Griffin, San Antonio Express-News
Steve Hatchell, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame,
Matt Hayes, The Sporting News
John Henderson, Denver Post
Kirk Herbstreit, ESPN
Norm Hitzges*, KTCK-AM 1310 The Ticket
Lou Holtz*, ESPN
Desmond Howard*, ESPN
Keith Jackson, ABC Sports - retired
Dan Jenkins, author and sportswriter
Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas City Star
Mike Kern, Philadelphia Daily News
Doug Lesmerises*, Cleveland Plain Dealer
Tom Luicci*, Newark Star Ledger
Verne Lundquist, CBS
Ivan Maisel,
Stewart Mandel,
Cory McCartney*,
Jeff Metcalfe*, ArizonaRepublic
Brent Musburger*, ESPN
Brad Nessler*, ESPN
Jamie Newburg*,
Tom O'Toole*, USA Today
Steve Richardson, Football Writers Association of American (FWAA)
Lenn Robbins, New York Post
Lisa Salters*, ESPN
Gregg Sarra*, Newsday
Joe Schad, ESPN
George Schroeder*, Eugene Registered Guard
Jeff Shain, Miami Herald
Mark Snyder*, Detroit Free Press
Mark Stewart*, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Bob Sturm*, KTCK-AM 1310 The Ticket
Graham Watson*, St. Louis Post Dispatch
Dick Weiss, New York Daily News
Kelly Whiteside, USA Today
Steve Wieberg, USA Today
Tracy Wolfson*, CBS

Former Winners:

Troy Aikman, 1988 O'Brien Winner, Aikman Enterprises
Brad Banks, 2002 O'Brien Winner, Montreal Alouettes
Michael Bishop, 1998 O'Brien Winner, Toronto Argonauts
Todd Blackledge, 1982 O'Brien Winner, ESPN
Earl Campbell, 1977 O'Brien Winner, Earl Campbell Meat Products
Kerry Collins, 1994 O'Brien Winner, Tennessee Titans
Eric Crouch, 2001 O'Brien Winner, Crouch/Churchich Recreational Design
Ty Detmer, 1990-91 O'Brien Winner, Triton Financial
Doug Flutie, 1984 O'Brien Winner, ABC Sports
Joe Hamilton, 1999 O'Brien Winner
Chuck Long, 1985 O'Brien Winner, San Diego State University
Peyton Manning, 1997 O'Brien Winner, Indianapolis Colts
Jim McMahon, 1981 O'Brien Winner
Donald McPherson, 1987 O'Brien Winner, Sports Leadership Institute, Adelphi
Billy Sims, 1978 O'Brien Winner, America Can!
Mike Singletary, 1979-80 O'Brien Winner, San Francisco 49ers
Troy Smith, 2006 O'Brien Winner, Baltimore Ravens
Vinny Testaverde, 1986 O'Brien Winner
Gino Torretta, 1992 O'Brien Winner, Gabelli Asset Management
Charlie Ward, 1993 O'Brien Winner, Houston Rockets
Andre Ware, 1989 O'Brien Winner, ESPN / 100.3 KILT
Chris Weinke, 2000 O'Brien Winner
Jason White, 2003-04 O'Brien Winner
Danny Wuerffel, 1995-96 O'Brien Winner, Desire Street Ministries
Steve Young, 1983 O'Brien Winner, Forever Young Foundation
Vince Young, 2005 O'Brien Winner, Tennessee Titans

* New members on the 2007 O'Brien Selection Committee

When voting, the Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of his quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, his reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

"We are excited to announce another addition to our Selection Committee this season," said Moorman. "We are giving fans the ability to vote daily for their quarterback of choice. The top three vote-getters will be added to our semifinalist list, and 5% of the Fan Vote will be included with the Selection Committee's votes as the Watch List is refined into semifinalists and finalists before the last day of voting on Dec. 2."

The 2007 season marks the first time in The O'Brien's history that fans will have a say in the voting. Fans will be able to vote for the starting quarterback from any of the 119 Division I-A football programs, leaving room for the possibility of a quarterback who is not on the Watch List to win the award. Fans can vote once daily on The O'Brien's Web site, in hopes of moving their pick to the final round.

The 2007 O'Brien winner will be announced on "The Home Depot College Football Awards Show" on ESPN Dec. 6.

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien helps to instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation provides scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

Contact Information