Ipsos Reid

Ipsos Reid

May 13, 2009 21:00 ET

The Parliamentarians of the Year Awards

Conservative Jason Kenney Chosen by Peers As Canada’s Best Overall MP

Attention: News Editor OTTAWA, ON--(Marketwire - May 13, 2009) - Ottawa, ON - Conservative Member of Parliament Hon. Jason T. Kenney, PC, is the 2009 recipient of the Maclean's Magazine/Dominion Institute/L'actualité Annual Parliamentarians of the Year Award as Canada's Best Overall MP.

The coveted peer recognition is one of seven categories freely voted on by individual Members of Parliament (MPs) from all Parties who sit in the Canadian Federal House of Commons. The results were determined based on responses from 214 MPs who participated in this year's survey, out of a total of 308 MPs who sit in Canada's Parliament.

These results are determined by a survey conducted by Ipsos Reid and include a scientific data weighting formula, which ensures that no Party or group can unfairly skew the results. A full explanation of the methodology is below.

In addition to the Best Overall MP selection, the annual Parliamentarians of the Year Awards include categories for the Hardest Working MP, Best Orator, Most Collegial MP, Most Knowledgeable MP, Best Constituency Representative and Best Rookie MP.

The winners of these categories for 2009 are*:

The top four runners-up in each category are also revealed below, and all MPs named have their voting point totals posted. A detailed methodology appears at the end of this release.

The Awards Rankings for 2009

Best Overall Member of Parliament for 2009
Hon. Jason Kenney (CONS) - 77
This is his first win in this category.

Category Runners-up…
Michael Ignatieff (LIB) -- 56
Gilles Duceppe (BQ) -- 53
Paul Szabo (LIB) -- 45
Peter Stoffer (NDP) -- 44

Hardest Working MP for 2009
Paul Szabo (LIB) - 94
This is his third consecutive win for this category.

Category Runners-up…
Ted Menzies (CONS) -- 81
Libby Davies (NDP) -- 59
Paul Crete (BQ) -- 52
Joe Comartin (NDP) -- 50

Best Orator for 2009
Hon. Bob Rae (LIB) - 142

Category Runners-up…
Gilles Duceppe (BQ) -- 91
Real Menard (BQ) -- 90
Thomas Mulcair (NDP) -- 83
Michael Ignatieff (LIB) - 82

Most Collegial MP for 2009
Peter Stoffer (NDP) - 187
This is his third consecutive win for this category.

Category Runners-up…
Rodger Cuzner (LIB) -- 58
Paul Crete (BQ) -- 39
Nicole Demers (BQ) -- 33
James Rajotte (CONS) - 26

Most Knowledgeable MP for 2009
Joe Comartin (NDP) - 102
This is his second consecutive win for this category.

Category Runners-up…
Gilles Duceppe (BQ) -- 80
Stephen Harper (CONS) -- 69
Bob Rae (LIB) -- 65
Ralph Goodale (LIB) - 54

Best Constituency Representative for 2009
Bill Casey (IND) - 83

Category Runners-up…
Charlie Angus (NDP) -- 75
Cheryl Gallant (CONS) -- 74
Peter Stoffer (NDP) -- 68
Larry Bagnell (LIB) -- 41

Best Rookie MP for 2009
Megan Leslie (NDP) - 141

Category Runners-up…
Marc Garneau (LIB) -- 104
Josee Beaudin (BQ) -- 100
Niki Ashton (NDP) -- 86
Kelly Block (CONS) - 80

Detailed Methodology

The annual Parliamentarians of the Year Awards rankings are determined by Members of Parliament who are provided with a list of attributes wherein they freely choose various colleagues who they believe best represent the attribute category. There is no list supplied -- these are names which are chosen on an open-ended basis (with the exception of the Best Rookie category, for which MPs were provided with a list of first-time MPs in the current parliament).

Each MP is given the opportunity to evaluate MPs within their own Party and outside of their Party in seven categories: Hardest Working; Best Orator; Most Collegial; Most Knowledgeable about the issues of the day; Best Constituency Representative; Best Rookie; and Best Overall MP. In each of these categories, MPs are asked to select their first and second choices within their own Party and then their first and second choices from outside of their Party.

Each individual vote is then weighted using an index based on the party size of the MP who submitted the vote. Each party's total voting power is indexed to 100 in order to ensure that party size results in neither an advantage nor a disadvantage to any Party. Votes from independent MPs are assigned neutral weights.

Weighted votes are then converted into scores using the following scoring scheme: first-place votes are worth 2 points, while second-place votes are worth 1 point.

* Party Identification Guide:

CONS = Conservative Party of Canada
LIB= Liberal Party of Canada
NDP= New Democratic Party of Canada
BQ= Bloc Québécois
IND= Independent

For more information on this news release, please contact:

Mike Colledge
Senior Vice President
Managing Director
Ipsos Reid
Public Affairs
(613) 241-5802

About Ipsos Reid
Ipsos Reid is Canada's market intelligence leader, the country's leading provider of public opinion research, and research partner for loyalty and forecasting and modelling insights. With operations in eight cities, Ipsos Reid employs more than 600 research professionals and support staff in Canada. The company has the biggest network of telephone call centres in the country, as well as the largest pre-recruited household and online panels. Ipsos Reid's marketing research and public affairs practices offer the premier suite of research vehicles in Canada, all of which provide clients with actionable and relevant information. Staffed with seasoned research consultants with extensive industry-specific backgrounds, Ipsos Reid offers syndicated information or custom solutions across key sectors of the Canadian economy, including consumer packaged goods, financial services, automotive, retail, and technology & telecommunications. Ipsos Reid is an Ipsos company, a leading global survey-based market research group.

To learn more, please visit www.ipsos.ca.

About Ipsos
Ipsos is a leading global survey-based market research company, owned and managed by research professionals. Ipsos helps interpret, simulate, and anticipate the needs and responses of consumers, customers, and citizens around the world.

Member companies assess market potential and interpret market trends. They develop and build brands. They help clients build long-term relationships with their customers. They test advertising and study audience responses to various media. They measure public opinion around the globe.

Ipsos member companies offer expertise in advertising, customer loyalty, marketing, media, and public affairs research, as well as forecasting, modeling, and consulting. Ipsos has a full line of custom, syndicated, omnibus, panel, and online research products and services, guided by industry experts and bolstered by advanced analytics and methodologies. The company was founded in 1975 and has been publicly traded since 1999.

In 2008, Ipsos generated global revenues of €979.3 million ($1.34 billion U.S.).

Visit www.ipsos.com to learn more about Ipsos offerings and capabilities.

Ipsos, listed on the Eurolist of Euronext - Comp B, is part of SBF 120 and the Mid-100 Index, adheres to the Next Prime segment and is eligible to the Deferred Settlement System. Isin FR0000073298, Reuters ISOS.PA, Bloomberg IPS:FP

Contact Information