The Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada

October 01, 2014 08:00 ET

The Royal Society of Canada Announces Results From 2014 Presidential Election

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Oct. 1, 2014) - The Fellowship of the Royal Society of Canada has elected a President-Elect, and the three constituent Academies of the Society have also elected Presidents-Elect. "Collectively, the incoming leadership of the Society represents an astonishing pool of experience and wisdom," said RSC President Graham Bell.

The Fellowship of the three Academies has elected Maryse Lassonde, FRSC, Scientific Director of the Fonds de recherche du Québec, as RSC President-Elect.

The Academy of Arts and Humanities has elected Irving Abella, FRSC, of York University.

The Academy of Social Sciences has elected Constance Backhouse, FRSC, of the University of Ottawa.

The Academy of Science has elected Jamal Deen, FRSC, of McMaster University.

The vision statement, as well as the short biography of each of the Presidents-Elect is available here.

The Presidents-Elect will assume office during the Annual General Meeting of the RSC on the weekend of November 20-23, 2014 at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac in Quebec City.

Founded in 1882, the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) comprises the Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada. Its mission is to recognize scholarly, research and artistic excellence, to advise governments and organizations, and to promote a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada and with other national academies around the world.

Contact Information