The Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada

October 25, 2013 11:51 ET

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) Announces 2013 Alice Wilson Award Winners

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Oct. 25, 2013) - The Royal Society of Canada is delighted to announce the three winners of the 2013 Alice Wilson Awards. They are: Virginie Soulier of the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, Kate Cairns of the University of Toronto, and Constance O'Connor of McMaster University.

ΓǃBy awarding this prestigious recognition to three outstanding emerging scholars, the Royal Society of Canada is proud to encourage the participation of women in higher education and research," said RSC President Yolande Grisé. "This particular award celebrates our country's best emerging scholars at a formative juncture in their career. Congratulations to the three recipients of the award who have worked continuously to develop and nurture their gifts, which will lead them to the top in their field of expertise."

The three Alice Wilson Awards are presented annually to women of outstanding academic qualifications who are entering a career in scholarship or research at the postdoctoral level. Established by the RSC in 1991 at the behest of the Committee for Advancement of Women in Scholarship, the awards honour the memory of Alice Evelyn Wilson (1881-1964), FRSC, the first woman elected to the RSC (1938).

As of 2013, there will be a total of three Alice Wilson Awards attributed each year, with one Alice Wilson Award being presented to a young scholar within the respective disciplines of the three academies of the RSC.

This year the awards will be presented at the Induction and Awards Ceremony occurring during the RSC's Annual General Meeting on Saturday, November 16, 2013, at the Fairmont Banff Springs in Banff, Alberta. To read the citations of the three Award Winners, please visit the Society's website at

Contact Information