SOURCE: Atlantic Records

October 15, 2009 14:16 ET

"THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON - ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" Set to Rise Tomorrow, Friday, October 16th; Hugely Anticipated Album Features New Music From Death Cab for Cutie, Thom Yorke, The Killers, Grizzly Bear, and Editors, Plus Exclusive "New Moon" Remix From Muse

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - October 15, 2009) - Responding to unprecedented popular demand, Summit Entertainment, Chop Shop Records and Atlantic Records will release "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON - ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" in stores and online tomorrow, Friday, October 16th. By far the most anticipated soundtrack of the year, digital files from the album became available on the Internet this past weekend. In response to the overwhelming demand, the compilation will now be released four days earlier than scheduled. "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON" is slated to open in theatres nationwide on November 20th.

The musical companion to the highly anticipated second installment in Summit's film franchise features new tracks from some of modern music's most gifted and admired artists, including Thom Yorke, The Killers, and Death Cab for Cutie, who contributed the album's first single, "Meet Me On the Equinox." The track is currently #15 at Modern Rock radio, while its companion video -- directed by Walter Robot, a.k.a. the team of multimedia artist Bill Barminski and writer Christopher Louie (Gnarls Barkley, Modest Mouse, Cute Is What We Aim For) -- recently premiered on MTV.

Also featured on "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON - ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" are previously unreleased tracks from such acclaimed artists as Bon Iver & St. Vincent, Grizzly Bear, Lykke Li, Band of Skulls, Editors, and Anya Marina, who's song "Satellite Heart" was the second track made available prior to the soundtrack's release. Among its numerous highlights is the exclusive "I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)" from Muse, who not only appeared on the original "TWILIGHT" soundtrack but is one of "TWILIGHT" author Stephenie Meyer's favorite bands (see tracklisting below).

MySpace Music is currently hosting an exclusive first listen to "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON - ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK," which began yesterday, Wednesday, October 14th. The complete soundtrack will be streamed in its entirety through the end of today.

In addition, Summit Entertainment has teamed up with leading online movie ticketing sites, Fandango and, to offer consumers who purchase advance tickets by December 7, 2009 for "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON" a free, exclusive remix of the soundtrack's "Satellite Heart" by Anya Marina, available only on the iTunes Store. A free download code redeemable on the iTunes Store -- -- will be distributed via e-mail for every ticket purchased. Consumers who have already purchased tickets for "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON" at Fandango or will receive an e-mail from their ticket provider with the iTunes Store promotional code(s) to access the free download. No additional purchase will be necessary.

Chop Shop Music Supervision owner Alexandra Patsavas ("Gossip Girl," "Grey's Anatomy") returns as the "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON" Soundtrack Album Producer/Music Supervisor, working closely with the film's director Chris Weitz in compiling the tracklisting. Paul Katz of Eye2Ear Music serves as both the producer of the album as well as Summit's point person on film-related music and soundtracks.

Released in November of 2008, "TWILIGHT - ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" has gone on to sell more than 2.2 million copies in the U.S. alone and 3.5 million worldwide. The soundtrack topped the Billboard 200 chart upon its release, marking the largest debut for an Atlantic Records soundtrack since Nielsen SoundScan began tracking sales in 1991. It also marked the biggest digital album debut of a theatrical soundtrack in SoundScan history. Since its release, "TWILIGHT - ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" has remained on the Billboard 200 for a total of 49 consecutive weeks.

About Summit Entertainment, LLC

Summit Entertainment, LLC is a worldwide theatrical motion picture development, financing, production, and distribution studio. The studio handles all aspects of marketing and distribution for both its own internally developed motion pictures as well as acquired pictures. Summit Entertainment, LLC also represents international sales for both its own slate and third party product. Summit Entertainment, LLC plans to release 10 to 12 films annually.

About Atlantic Records

Atlantic Records, which celebrated its 60th Anniversary in 2008, currently ranks as the #1 label in the music industry. Founded in New York City, the label grew from literally a one-room operation into one of the world's preeminent music companies. Atlantic has released a string of recordings that have had a profound impact on the course of modern music, its rich history including such musical icons as Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, John Coltrane, and Led Zeppelin. The Atlantic roster today includes many of the world's most popular recording artists, among them James Blunt, Tracy Chapman, Phil Collins, Death Cab for Cutie, Missy Elliott, Estelle, Flo Rida, Lupe Fiasco, Gnarls Barkley, Kid Rock, Matchbox Twenty, Jason Mraz, O.A.R., Sean Paul, Rush, Shinedown, Staind, Rob Thomas, T.I., Trey Songz, Uncle Kracker, Zac Brown Band, and many more.

About Chop Shop

Alexandra Patsavas founded her own Chop Shop Music Supervision company in 1998. She quickly earned a reputation for raising the bar in the quality of music selected for television series, including "Grey's Anatomy," "The O.C.," "Gossip Girl," "Mad Men," and "Rescue Me." A champion of independent artists, Patsavas has been responsible for identifying and exposing a remarkable string of original music to mainstream audiences. In the process, she has played an influential role in the development of such artists as Death Cab for Cutie, The Killers, Snow Patrol, Modest Mouse, The Fray, KT Tunstall, and many others. In 2007, Patsavas launched Chop Shop Records, which today is home to The Republic Tigers, The Little Ones, Anya Marina, and the "Twilight" and "New Moon" soundtracks.



                            (CHOP SHOP/ATLANTIC)
                       In Stores And Online October 16th

1.  Death Cab for Cutie--"Meet Me On the Equinox"
2.  Band of Skulls--"Friends"
3.  Thom Yorke--"Hearing Damage"
4.  Lykke Li--"Possibility"
5.  The Killers--"A White Demon Love Song"
6.  Anya Marina--"Satellite Heart"
7.  Muse--"I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)"
8.  Bon Iver & St. Vincent--"Roslyn"
9.  Black Rebel Motorcycle Club--"Done All Wrong"
10. Hurricane Bells--"Monsters"
11. Sea Wolf--"The Violet Hour"
12. OK Go--"Shooting the Moon"
13. Grizzly Bear (with Victoria Legrand)--"Slow Life"
14. Editors--"No Sound But the Wind"
15. Alexandre Desplat--"New Moon (The Meadow)"

Contact Information