October 30, 2012 08:02 ET

Tim Hartmann Wins Irish Winter Festival 2012 Main Event

German Poker Player Tops 385-Strong Field In Dublin For EUR100,000 Payday

DUBLIN, IRELAND--(Marketwire - Oct. 30, 2012) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this press release.

Tim Hartmann is the new Irish Winter Festival main event champion after battling through the 385-strong field at the Burlington Hotel, Dublin to lift the EUR100,000 top prize in the early hours of Tuesday morning.

It took 12 hours of poker before Germany's Hartmann could claim the title, three of those heads up against a determined opponent in Patryk Pietnoczko from Poland.

Before that Hartmann had dispensed with challenges from Irishmen Jay O'Toole and Ronan Gilligan and English raider Julian Thew before settling down with a commanding 6:1 chip lead over Pietnoczko.

However he was not to have it all his own way and before long Pietnoczko had pulled level in chips then gone in front by 2:1. Hartmann dug deep and fought back and eventually regained his dominant 6:1 lead.

He finished Pietnoczko off with the blinds at 40,000/80,000 and both players were dealt an Ace. Hartmann had to come from behind with A-4 vs A-8 and a fortunate 4 on the flop was enough to push him over the line and into the arms of a EUR100,000 first prize.

Patryk Pietnoczko picked up EUR56,500 for his troubles as well as one of six Irish Open 2013 packages handed out by to the six online qualifiers - the Six Survivors - who went deepest in the event.

The final table payouts were:

1st - Tim Hartmann - EUR100,000
2nd - Patryk Pietnoczko - EUR56,500
3rd - Ronan Gilligan - EUR35,000
4th - Julian Thew - EUR28,350
5th - Marc McDonnell - EUR22,300
6th - Jay O Toole - EUR18,300
7th - Daniele Nestola - EUR14,400
8th - Ahmed Eydan - EUR11,400
9th - Trevor Dineen - EUR8,400

The top ten in chips going into the final day (from 19 players returning) were:

1: Declan Wallace - 877,000
2: Julian Thew - 793,000
3: Daniele Nestola - 788,000
4: Ronan Gilligan - 729,000
5: John O'Shea - 641,000
6: Tim Harttman - 579,000
7: Francesco Macari - 426,000
8: Jason O'Toole - 358,000
9: Ahmed Eydan - 342,000
10: Thomas Finneran - 270,000

The 385 players who took part in the Irish Winter Festival 2012 created a prize pool of EUR385,000 from which 40 players got paid.

Among the notable names who played the event were former Irish Open champions Neil Channing, Niall Smyth and Marty Smyth, WSOP finalist Padraig Parkinson and World Poker Tour finalist John O'Shea.

Note to editors:

For full results from this festival as well as pictures of the participants and a full final table report check the blog. Please credit Maxwell when re-posting or printing images.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link:

Contact Information

    Jenny Cruess Callaghan
    Acting Press Officer
    00 353 1 6563922 or Mob: 00 353 87 7534989


Keyword Cloud

View Website