Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations

October 23, 2010 11:44 ET

Tla-o-qui-aht join forces with Wild salmon people

Attention: Assignment Editor, Environment Editor, News Editor, Photo Editor, Government/Political Affairs Editor TOFINO, BC, NEWS RELEASE--(Marketwire - Oct. 23, 2010) - The Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations have joined forces with the Wild Salmon People and will be launching Tla-o-qui-aht Tyee Hawiih, Haa yu ah (Chief Ray Seitcher Jr's) canoe across the Salish Sea on Saturday, Oct 23rd 2010.

Tla-o-qui-aht citizens will be joining paddlers from Homalco, Cowichan Valley, Washington, and Kitimat in Victoria to join Alexandra Morton, Elena Edwards, First Nations leaders and our flotilla in pulling together for wild salmon as they journey down the Fraser River. The paddle will finish in Vancouver for a rally on October 25th.

The migration officially launched at a "Hope for Wild Salmon" event on 19th October in Hope with other events en route: Chilliwack (20th), Matsqui (21st), Katzie (22nd), New Westminster and Musqueam (23rd), Jericho Beach (24th) and our final day paddling to Vanier Park (25th) and meeting many on foot for our walk through downtown Vancouver. First Nations will take a leading role and paddlers include:

Grand Chief Stewart Phillip (Union of BC Indian Chiefs)
Grand Chief Saul Terry (Intertribal Treaty Organization)
Grand Chief Clarence Pennier (Sto:Lo Tribal Council)
Chief Bob Chamberlin (Kwicksutaineuk-Ah-Kwaw-Ah-Mish First Nation)
Chief Marilyn Baptiste (Xeni Gwet'in First Nations Government)
Chief Bev Sellars (Xat'sull First Nation)
Chief Judy Wilson (Neskonlith Indian Band)
Chief Wayne Christian (Splats'in First Nation)
Chief Andy Phillips (Scowlitz First Nation)
Chief Alice Mackay (Matsqui First Nation)
Chief Rhoda Peters (Chawathil First Nation)
Chief Rhonda Larrabee (Qayqayt First Nation)
Chief Lydia Hwitsum (Cowichan Tribes)
Chief Ernest Campbell (Musqueam Indian Band)
Chief Joe Alphonse (Tl'etinqox-t'in Government Office)
Chief Bernie Elkins (?Esdilagh First Nation)
Chief Percy Guichon (Tsi Del Del First Nation)
Chief Francis Laceese (Toosey Indian Band)
Chief Ivor Myers (Yunesit'in Government)
Chief Willie Charlie (Chehalis First Nation)
Hereditary Chief Robert Joeseph (Kwakwaka'wakw First Nation)

Fin Donnelly MP
Vicki Huntington MLA
Spencer Chandra Herbert MLA
John Cummins MP
Joyce Murray MP
Michelle Mungall MLA
Peter Julian MP
Lana Popham MLA
Michael Sather MLA
Denise Savoie MP
Bob Simpson MLA
Ellen Woodsworth Vancouver City Clr
Gregor Robertson (Mayor of Vancouver)

"National Chief Shawn Atleo blessed the departure of the Wild Salmon People as we migrated down the Fraser River to march across Burrard Bridge to the opening of the Cohen Commission in Vancouver on Monday. We will ask that Justice Cohen find the will to order full disclosure from the salmon feedlots. Martin Luther King and Gandhi showed us how to protect ourselves, our land and our future from governments that have forgotten that they serve us, the people, not the corporations. Peacefully, powerfully we have to walk together in the face of disrespect."

Contact Information

  • Terry Dorward-Seitcher, Tla-o-qui-aht Councillor
    Primary Phone: 250-726-3736