British Columbia Treaty Commission

British Columbia Treaty Commission

April 05, 2016 09:45 ET

Tla'amin Becomes the Eighth First Nation to Implement a Modern Treaty in BC

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - April 5, 2016) - Today the Tla'amin Final Agreement takes effect, becoming the eighth constitutionally protected modern treaty to be implemented in BC. The Treaty Commission congratulates the Tla'amin (Sliammon) First Nation, Canada, and British Columbia on reaching this historic day.

Tla'amin joins Tsawwassen First Nation, the five Maa-nulth First Nations, and the Nisga'a Nation in implementation of a modern treaty, the ultimate form of reconciliation. The Nisga'a treaty was negotiated earlier, while the other seven treaties were negotiated in the BC treaty negotiations process.

The Tla'amin Final Agreement received Royal Assent in 2014. The First Nation has been preparing for the Effective Date by drafting laws and preparing for self-governance. The treaty provides Tla'amin First Nation with 8,323 hectares of treaty settlement lands and a one-time capital transfer of approximately $31.1 million over ten years. In addition, it provides economic development funding of approximately $7.3 million, a fishing vessel fund of $0.3 million, and $0.7 million annually in resource revenue sharing for fifty years.

There are approximately 1,075 Tla'amin citizens, with traditional territory and water around the Powell River area, including Lesqueti, Texada, and Cortes Islands, and the Comox Valley.

"Congratulations to the Tla'amin people for choosing a brighter and more prosperous future for their Nation and for the Powell River region," said Commissioner Jerry Lampert, who has worked with the parties for eight years. "This treaty strengthens their government, culture and land, and strengthens the economy of the Powell River region."

About the BC Treaty Commission

The Treaty Commission is the independent body responsible for overseeing treaty negotiations among the governments of Canada, BC and First Nations in BC. It has three roles: facilitation, funding, and public information and education.

Visit to learn more about the Treaty Commission.

Contact Information