Northern Lights Award Foundation

Northern Lights Award Foundation

September 11, 2013 11:49 ET

Top Awards to Six Women in Aviation and Aerospace

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Sept. 11, 2013) - Recently retired Commander of the Canadian Forces Snowbirds, Lt.-Col Maryse Carmichael, will be one of six women honoured at the fifth annual Northern Lights Award Foundation Gala on September 27, 2013 in Toronto.

The Northern Lights Award Foundation (NLAF) is a not-for profit organization that was established in 2009 to celebrate the outstanding achievements of women in aviation and aerospace in Canada. The Foundation's prestigious Elsie MacGill Northern Lights Awards are named after aviation pioneer Elsie MacGill, and are bestowed annually on six Canadian women who have made a significant contribution in their field.

The 2013 NLAF winners have roots in British Columbia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Ontario and Quebec, and are: Lt.-Col Maryse Carmichael - Flight Operations/Maintenance Award; Catherine (Kate) Fletcher - Government Award; Marcia Strang - Business Award; Elizabeth Wieben - Education Award; Felicity McKendry - Pioneer Award; and Natalie Panek - Rising Star Award.

More than 150 aviation and aerospace professionals and members of the media will gather at the Spirale Banquet and Convention Centre in Toronto on September 27 to honour these women.

Contact Information