Torstar Corporation

March 30, 2005 16:00 ET

Torstar Announces Retirement of Dr. John Evans and Appointment of the Hon. Frank Iacobucci as Chairman of the Board




MARCH 30, 2005 - 16:00 ET

Torstar Announces Retirement of Dr. John Evans and
Appointment of the Hon. Frank Iacobucci as Chairman of
the Board

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - March 30, 2005) - Torstar Corporation
(TSX:TS.NV.B) today announced the retirement effective June 30, 2005 of
Dr. John R. Evans as Chairman of the Board of Directors, and the
appointment of the Hon. Frank Iacobucci as his successor effective July
1, 2005.

Dr. Evans joined the Board of Torstar in 1984, and was appointed
Chairman in 1993. As such, he was the first independent Chairman of
Torstar. He has also chaired the Nominating & Corporate Governance
Committee and the Editorial Advisory Committee and Mr. Iacobucci will
succeed him in these roles as well.

"Dr. Evans' leadership, like his life, has been an inspiration to all
fortunate enough to serve with him," said Robert Prichard, President and
Chief Executive Officer of Torstar Corporation. "It has been a privilege
for all of us at Torstar to work with him. He set very high standards of
governance and has put in place policies and practices that will
continue to serve us and all our shareholders well."

The Hon. Frank Iacobucci is a recently retired Justice of the Supreme
Court of Canada where he had served since 1991. He received his B. Com.
(UBC) in 1961, LL.B. (UBC) in 1962, LL.M. (Cambridge) in 1964 and Dip.
Int'l L. (Cambridge) in 1966. He was called to the Bar of Ontario in
1970 and appointed Queen's Counsel in 1986. As a Professor of Law at the
University of Toronto from 1967-1985, he specialized in corporate law,
corporate finance and securities regulation and he served as a member of
the Ontario Securities Commission. He has also served the University at
various times as Dean of the Faculty of Law, Vice-President, Internal
Affairs, Vice-President and Provost, and most recently as Interim
President. He was appointed Deputy Minister of Justice and Deputy
Attorney General for Canada in 1985 and then Chief Justice of the
Federal Court of Canada in 1988. He joined the Torstar Board of
Directors on July 27, 2004 and has served on the Salary & Organization
and Editorial Advisory Committees.

"Frank Iacobucci is a Canadian of great distinction," said Dr. John
Evans. "Throughout his academic, legal and judicial careers he has
displayed values consistent with those of Torstar and with the Atkinson
Principles that have guided its flagship newspaper since inception. He
is also a nationally recognized expert on corporate law and securities
regulation. I am delighted he has agreed to lead the Board and confident
that he will continue to elevate Torstar's governance process."


Torstar Corporation is a broadly based media company listed on the
Toronto Stock Exchange (TS.nv.b). Its businesses include newspapers led
by the Toronto Star, Canada's largest daily newspaper; CityMedia Group,
publishers of daily and community newspapers in Southwestern Ontario;
Metroland Printing, Publishing & Distributing, publishers of more than
60 community newspapers in Southern Ontario; and Harlequin Enterprises,
a leading global publisher of women's fiction.

Torstar's news releases are available on the Internet at


Contact Information

    Torstar Corporation
    R. J. Steacy
    Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer
    (416) 869-4031