British Columbia Treaty Commission

British Columbia Treaty Commission

February 12, 2016 20:47 ET

Treaty Commission Congratulates Northern Shuswap Tribal Council on Agreement in Principle 'Yes' Vote

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Feb. 12, 2016) - Yesterday, February 11, 2016, the Northern Shuswap Tribal Council and their affiliated NStQ Treaty Group held community votes on their Agreement in Principle (AIP). The Treaty Commission congratulates the three communities that voted 'yes' to proceeding to Stage 5 of the BC treaty negotiations process.

NStQ represents Canim Lake Indian Band [Tsq'escen'], Soda Creek Indian Band [Xat'sull], Williams Lake Indian Band [T'exelc], and Canoe Creek/Dog Creek Indian Band [Stswecem'c/Xgat'tem].

Canim Lake, Soda Creek and Canoe Creek/Dog Creek voted in support of continuing to Final Agreement negotiations. NStQ will be the third multi-community First Nation to advance into Stage 5 Final Agreement negotiations this fiscal year, once the parties sign the AIP. There was an additional single community that also advanced to Stage 5 this fiscal year.

"The results of this important vote show that the BC treaty negotiation process is working, and supports First Nations governance and self determination," said Commissioner Jerry Lampert, who has been working with the NStQ table for a number of years.

Williams Lake's vote was suspended due to a disruption during the voting process. The community will conduct a re-vote on March 15, 2016.

Quick Facts

  • NStQ's traditional territory and waters are in the central Cariboo from Valemont and McBride in the northeast, to the Fraser River to the west.
  • Active or completed treaty negotiations involve 41 First Nations, representing 78 Indian Act Bands in BC and one in Northwest Territories. This means 39% of all BC Indian Act Bands are actively negotiating or are already implementing a modern treaty.
  • In 2015 four AIPs were signed - the most ever signed in one year. Te'mexw Treaty Association, Wuikinuxv Nation, Kitselas and Kitsumkalum [Tsimshian First Nations] joined In-SHUCK-ch, K'omoks, and Yekooche First Nations in Stage 5. Together they represent 12 Indian Act Bands.

About the BC Treaty Commission

The Treaty Commission is the independent body responsible for overseeing treaty negotiations among the governments of Canada, BC and First Nations in BC. It has three roles: facilitation, funding, and public information and education.

Visit to learn more about the Treaty Commission.

Contact Information