May 23, 2012 10:00 ET

Trevor Rabin to Receive ASCAP Henry Mancini Award at 27th ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards

LOS ANGELES, CA and NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - May 23, 2012) - ASCAP (The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) will honor composer Trevor Rabin at the 27th annual ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards, taking place June 21, 2012 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, California. Rabin will be presented with the distinguished ASCAP Henry Mancini Award. The composers of the most performed film and television music of 2011 will also be honored at the invitation-only event.

ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams said, "Trevor Rabin's blending of genres makes his musical voice unique, and his ability to write memorable pop songs and evocative scores demonstrates the breadth and depth of his musical gifts. ASCAP is proud to honor Trevor with the prestigious Henry Mancini Award for his contributions to Film and TV music."

Trevor Rabin is one of the most sought-after film composers of today, with more than 35 film credits to his name. His film scores have won numerous Film and TV Awards, including a Career Achievement Award from the Temecula International Film Festival, and a Gold Medal for Excellence in Film Music Award.

His recent scores include The Sorcerer's Apprentice, Get Smart, and I Am Number Four. Other film credits include National Treasure (1 & 2), Bad Boys 2, Flyboys, Glory Road, Remember the Titans, Armageddon, Con Air, and Enemy of the State. Rabin's score for Remember the Titans served as Barack Obama's theme music for his democratic and presidential speeches, and also accompanied the Olympic Games telecasts.

Rabin is also a guitarist, keyboardist, singer, songwriter, producer and recording engineer. Rabin was born in South Africa to a classically trained violinist, and found his love of music quickly, learning to play piano and teaching himself the guitar at a young age. While in South Africa, he took part in bands Conglomeration and Freedom's Children -- an anti-apartheid band -- before forming teen rock group, Rabbitt.

When he moved to Los Angeles, Rabin met Chris Squire -- former bass player of Yes. Rabin became part of Yes' comeback, writing the group's #1 single, "Owner of A Lonely Heart," on their largest-selling album, 90125.

The ASCAP Henry Mancini Award is awarded to composers in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions to the world of film and television music. Previous recipients include Angelo Badalamenti, Bruce Broughton, Carter Burwell, John Debney, Mark Isham, Quincy Jones, Michel Legrand, Dennis McCarthy, Randy Newman, James Newton Howard, Johnny Mandel, Marc Shaiman, Howard Shore, and Hans Zimmer.

Established in 1914, ASCAP is the first and leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization (PRO) representing the world's largest repertory totaling over 8.5 million copyrighted musical works of every style and genre from more than 435,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members. ASCAP has representation arrangements with similar foreign organizations so that the ASCAP repertory is represented in nearly every country around the world where copyright law exists. ASCAP protects the rights of its members and foreign affiliates by licensing the public performances of their copyrighted works and distributing royalties based upon surveyed performances. ASCAP is the only American PRO owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.