Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Citizenship and Immigration Canada

October 19, 2010 07:00 ET

Twelve Outstanding Canadians Receive Canada's Citizenship Award

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Oct. 19, 2010) - Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism Minister Jason Kenney today announced that 12 Canadians have been awarded Canada's Citizenship Award (formerly the Citation for Citizenship) for their exemplary citizenship. The first two awards will be presented by MP Tim Uppal at a citizenship ceremony today, presided over by Commodore H.W. Jung.

This prestigious award pays tribute to Canadians who have made an important contribution to our country by promoting the rights and responsibilities of Canadian citizenship. It also honours Canadians who have played an outstanding role in helping newcomers to integrate into Canadian society.

The 12 recipients for 2010 are:

  • Dr. James Chi Ming Pau of Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Maria Logan of Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Shokoofeh Moussavi of Calgary, Alberta
  • Dr. Kazi Sadrul Hoque of Toronto, Ontario
  • Mario Guilombo of Toronto, Ontario
  • Xiaoran (Joshua) Jiang of Toronto, Ontario
  • Dr. Ambaro Guled of Toronto, Ontario
  • Dr. Hoanh Khoi Nguyen (Dr. Khoi) of Toronto, Ontario
  • Christopher Harris of Ottawa, Ontario
  • Elizabeth Rapley of Ottawa, Ontario
  • Rosemary A. Segee of Montreal, Quebec
  • Gail McKay of Fall River, Nova Scotia

"I am very proud to present Canada's Citizenship Award to these twelve Canadians," said Minister Kenney. "These extraordinary Canadians have helped newcomers find their way, encouraged young people to dream, and challenged others to live up to their responsibilities. This award recognizes their contributions to Canada."

Canada's Citizenship Award is announced every year during Citizenship Week. The recipients are selected by a panel that includes citizenship judges from across Canada. Each person honoured receives a gold maple leaf pin and a framed certificate signed by the Minister.

For more information about this year's recipients and their accomplishments, please visit our website

Follow us on Twitter at

Contact Information

  • Citizenship and Immigration Canada
    Minister's Office
    Alykhan Velshi
    Citizenship and Immigration Canada
    Communications Branch
    Media Relations