SOURCE: Atlantic Records

October 29, 2009 19:00 ET

"The Twilight Saga: New Moon -- Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" Rises to #1 on the Billboard 200; First Time a Soundtrack and Its Sequel Both Reach Top Spot on Chart; Event Featuring Soundtrack Artists Scheduled for Nov. 6th in Los Angeles

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - October 29, 2009) - "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON -- ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" rises to #1 this week on the Billboard 200, its first full week in stores and online. Despite the soundtrack being released four days earlier than scheduled, it made an impressive debut last week at #2 on the chart after an abbreviated week at retail. This marks the first time ever that a soundtrack and its sequel have both reached the #1 spot on the Billboard 200. "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON" is slated to open in theatres nationwide on November 20th.

The musical companion to the highly anticipated second installment in Summit Entertainment's film franchise features new tracks from some of modern music's most gifted and admired artists, including Thom Yorke, Muse, The Killers, Bon Iver & St. Vincent, and Death Cab for Cutie, who contributed the album's first single, "Meet Me On the Equinox." The track is currently #14 at Modern Rock radio.

Also featured on "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON -- ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" are previously unreleased tracks from such acclaimed artists as Grizzly Bear, Lykke Li, Band of Skulls, Editors, OK Go, and Anya Marina, whose song "Satellite Heart" was the second track made available prior to the soundtrack's release. Among its numerous highlights is the exclusive "I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)" from Muse, who also appeared on the original "TWILIGHT" soundtrack.

A nationwide cast tour for "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON," which will also feature several bands on the soundtrack, kicks off in Los Angeles at the Hollywood & Highland Center on Friday, November 6th. The special event is open to the public. The audience will be treated to performances by Death Cab for Cutie, Anya Marina, Sea Wolf, and Band of Skulls, giving them a new opportunity to experience the music from the soundtrack. The cast tour will then continue across the country, with select actors from the movie making stops in 15 cities. Several dates will also include performances from soundtrack artists. For more information, visit and

In addition, Summit Entertainment has teamed up with leading online movie ticketing sites, Fandango and, to offer consumers who purchase advance tickets for "THE TWILIGHT SAGA: NEW MOON" a free, exclusive remix of the soundtrack's "Satellite Heart" by Anya Marina, available only on the iTunes Store. With every ticket purchase, consumers will receive a free download code redeemable on the iTunes Store -- -- through January 15, 2010. (While supplies last. Remix exclusive for a limited time. A maximum of 10 codes per Fandango transaction.)

Released in November of 2008, "TWILIGHT -- ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" has gone on to sell more than 3.5 million worldwide. The soundtrack topped the Billboard 200 chart upon its release, marking the largest debut for an Atlantic Records soundtrack since Nielsen SoundScan began tracking sales in 1991. It also marked the biggest digital album debut of a theatrical soundtrack in SoundScan history. Since its release, "TWILIGHT -- ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" has remained on the Billboard 200 for a total of 51 consecutive weeks.

About Summit Entertainment, LLC

Summit Entertainment, LLC is a worldwide theatrical motion picture development, financing, production, and distribution studio. The studio handles all aspects of marketing and distribution for both its own internally developed motion pictures as well as acquired pictures. Summit Entertainment, LLC also represents international sales for both its own slate and third party product. Summit Entertainment, LLC plans to release 10 to 12 films annually.

About Atlantic Records

Atlantic Records, which celebrated its 60th Anniversary in 2008, currently ranks as the #1 label in the music industry. Founded in New York City, the label grew from literally a one-room operation into one of the world's preeminent music companies. Atlantic has released a string of recordings that have had a profound impact on the course of modern music, its rich history including such musical icons as Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, John Coltrane, and Led Zeppelin. The Atlantic roster today includes many of the world's most popular recording artists, among them James Blunt, Tracy Chapman, Phil Collins, Death Cab for Cutie, Missy Elliott, Estelle, Flo Rida, Lupe Fiasco, Gnarls Barkley, Kid Rock, Matchbox Twenty, Jason Mraz, O.A.R., Sean Paul, Rush, Shinedown, Staind, Rob Thomas, T.I., Trey Songz, Uncle Kracker, Zac Brown Band, and many more.

About Chop Shop

Alexandra Patsavas founded her own Chop Shop Music Supervision company in 1998. She quickly earned a reputation for raising the bar in the quality of music selected for television series, including "Grey's Anatomy," "The O.C.," "Gossip Girl," "Mad Men," and "Rescue Me." A champion of independent artists, Patsavas has been responsible for identifying and exposing a remarkable string of original music to mainstream audiences. In the process, she has played an influential role in the development of such artists as Death Cab for Cutie, The Killers, Snow Patrol, Modest Mouse, The Fray, KT Tunstall, and many others. In 2007, Patsavas launched Chop Shop Records, which today is home to The Republic Tigers, The Little Ones, Anya Marina, and the "Twilight" and "New Moon" soundtracks.



                            (CHOP SHOP/ATLANTIC)
                     In Stores And Online October 16th

1. Death Cab for Cutie - "Meet Me On the Equinox"
2. Band of Skulls - "Friends"
3. Thom Yorke - "Hearing Damage"
4. Lykke Li - "Possibility"
5. The Killers - "A White Demon Love Song"
6. Anya Marina - "Satellite Heart"
7. Muse - "I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)"
8. Bon Iver & St. Vincent - "Roslyn"
9. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - "Done All Wrong"
10. Hurricane Bells - "Monsters"
11. Sea Wolf - "The Violet Hour"
12. OK Go - "Shooting the Moon"
13. Grizzly Bear (with Victoria Legrand) - "Slow Life"
14. Editors - "No Sound But the Wind"
15. Alexandre Desplat - "New Moon (The Meadow)"

Contact Information