Industry Canada

Industry Canada

January 30, 2008 11:30 ET

Two New Members Appointed to National Research Council Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Jan. 30, 2008) - The Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry and Minister responsible for the National Research Council Canada (NRC), today announced the appointment of Dr. Khristinn Kellie Leitch and Dr. Allan A. Warrack to the Council.

"Through their respective work in universities, Dr. Leitch and Dr. Warrack offer a perspective that will allow the Council to continue helping Canada be a leader in research and development," said Minister Prentice. "I am pleased to welcome them both to the Council and look forward to seeing the Council's continued good work."

Dr. Leitch is currently Assistant Dean (External), Chief/Chair of Paediatric Surgery and Assistant Professor, Paediatric Orthopaedics with the Department of Surgery at the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry at the University of Western Ontario. She is also Adjunct Professor at the Richard Ivey School of Business at the same university and Associate Scientist at the Lawson Health Research Institute at the London Health Sciences Centre.

In March 2007, Dr. Leitch was appointed as Advisor on Healthy Children and Youth by Health Canada. In May 2005, she was honoured as one of Canada's Top 40 Under 40, and in November of the same year was named as one of Canada's 100 Most Influential Women - Professional Category.

Dr. Allan A. Warrack is currently Professor (Emeritus) with the Department of Marketing, Business Economics and Law in the Faculty of Business at the University of Alberta. He has also held the positions of Associate Dean of the Master of Public Management Program and Vice-President (Administration) at the same university.

Recognized globally for research and innovation, the NRC is a leader in the development of an innovative, knowledge-based economy for Canada through science and technology.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Honourable Jim Prentice
    Minister of Industry
    Deirdra McCracken
    Press Secretary
    National Research Council Canada
    Richard Bourgeois-Doyle
    Acting Director, Corporate Governance