UFA Co-operative Limited

UFA Co-operative Limited

April 11, 2012 13:05 ET

UFA Co-operative Limited Announces 2012 Board of Directors

Chairman Jim Laverick Elected for Third Term, Lori Ell Welcomed to the Board

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - April 11, 2012) - UFA Co-operative Limited is proud to announce the election of the 2012 Board of Directors.

Jim Laverick, (UFA Chairman of the Board) was elected for a third consecutive term as Chairman. Jim grew up on a family farm in the Grande Prairie area and was a senior leader with the Co-operators for 38 years. As UFA Chairman of the Board, Jim will continue to lead the eleven member board of directors.

Lori Ell, (President, Agristar Inc.) has been elected to the board for a three-year term. Lori is a native Albertan with over 20 years of experience as a strategic business leader. She is a certified accountant with a strong understanding of the agriculture industry. Lori currently serves as Chairman of the Board for the Alberta Food Processors' Association.

Re-elected for a three-year term are board members Robert (Bob) Chisholm and Cornie Teichroeb. Bob was elected to the board in 2009 and Cornie has been a member of the board since 2006.

"We are delighted to welcome back Chairman of the Board Jim Laverick along with board members Cornie Teichroeb and Bob Chisholm," said Jim Watt, Chief Governance Officer, UFA Co-operative Ltd. "We are also very pleased to welcome our newest member, Lori Ell to the board of directors. Lori's experience and strong business leadership will be a benefit to both our Co-operative and our membership. We look forward to working with her."

"On behalf of UFA, we would like to offer a sincere thank you to Mic Thiessen for his many years as a UFA board member and delegate," continued Watt. "Mic has been an elected official at UFA since 2004 and we are extremely thankful for the positive contributions he has made as a board member over the past three years. We wish him well in his future endeavors."

The UFA board of directors is elected by the assembly of UFA consisting of 42 delegates and 11 board members. The 2012 board includes:

Debbie Adolphson, Valleyview

Tim Bancroft, Calgary

Bob Chisholm, Cochrane/Calgary

Bill Dobson, Paradise Valley

Lori Ell, Calgary

Duane Glimsdale, Claresholm

Jim Laverick, Calgary

Bill Lee, Camp Creek

Jacob Middelkamp, Gibbons

Cornie Teichroeb, La Crete

Barry Webster, Mountain View

Further information regarding the UFA board of directors please visit www.ufa.com/aboutUFA/directors.html

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link:


2012 UFA Board of Directors

(Back Row left to right) Duane Glimsdale, Tim Bancroft, Bob Chisholm, Cornie Teichroeb, Bill Dobson, Bill Lee, (Front Row left to right) Debbie Adolphson, Barry Webster, Jim Laverick, Jacob Middelkamp, Lori Ell

About UFA Co-operative Ltd.

UFA Co-operative Limited is one of Alberta's most dynamic enterprises. UFA has an unmatched network of 113 bulk fuel and cardlock petroleum outlets, 35 Farm and Ranch Supply stores and 24 outdoor adventure stores operating under the Wholesale Sports banner. Our employees and independent petroleum agents strive to provide products, services, and solutions to farmers, ranchers, consumers and commercial accounts throughout Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan.

Since its founding in 1909, UFA has grown from a small-scale local co-operative into a comprehensive enterprise with 2.1 billion in annual sales and almost 120,000 active members. While UFA has grown and changed over the years, at our heart remains a commitment to agriculture and to the communities we call home.

Contact Information

  • UFA Co-operative Communications
    Amanda Bates
    403-819-4462 mobile